Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

Intellectual Property: 2020-2021

Last Updated:

Background & Mission Statement

The Intellectual Property Interests Constituency (hereinafter to be referred to as the IPC) is a part of the Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO) according to Article 11 (5)  of the ICANN bylaws.

The purpose of the IPC is to:

Represent the views and interests of owners of intellectual property worldwide with particular emphasis on trademark, copyright, and related intellectual property rights and their effect and interaction with Domain Name Systems (DNS); and to ensure that these views, including minority views, are reflected in the recommendations made by the GNSO Council to the ICANN Board.

More particularly, to review and raise all intellectual property matters including any proposals, issues, policies, or otherwise, which may affect intellectual property, particularly as it interfaces with the DNS, and to provide to the GNSO and the ICANN Board timely and expert advice before it must make any decision or take any position thereon.


Heather Forrest

President – Heather Forrest (SOI)

Dean Marks

Vice President – Dean Marks (SOI)

Damon Ashcraft

Treasurer – Damon Ashcraft (SOI)

Susan Payne

Secretary - Susan Payne (SOI)

Flip Petillion

Flip Petillion (SOI) – Europe / October 2018 – AGM 2020

John McElwaine

John McElwaine (SOI) – North America / October 2019 – AGM 2021

Dean Marks

CSG Representative – Dean Marks (SOI)

Paul McGrady

Participation Coordinator – Paul McGrady (SOI)



Web Presence:

Mailing List: