Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

Intellectual Property - 2015

Last Updated:

Background & Mission Statement

The Intellectual Property Interests Constituency (hereinafter to be referred to as the IPC) is a part of the Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO) according to Article X (5) of the ICANN bylaws, which became effective on December 15, 2002.

The purposes of the IPC are to:

Represent the views and interests of owners of intellectual property worldwide with particular emphasis on trademark, copyright, and related intellectual property rights and their effect and interaction with Domain Name Systems (DNS), and to ensure that these views, including minority views, are reflected in the recommendations made by the GNSO Council to the ICANN Board.

More particularly, to review and raise all intellectual property matters including any proposals, issues, policies, or otherwise, which may affect intellectual property, particularly as it interfaces with the DNS, and to provide to the GNSO and the ICANN Board timely and expert advice before it must make any decision or take any position thereon.


Gregory S. Shatan

President – Gregory S. Shatan (SOI)

Victoria Sheckler

Vice President – Victoria Sheckler (SOI)

Lori Schulman

Treasurer – Lori Schulman (SOI)

Kiran Malancharuvil

Secretary - Kiran Malancharuvil (SOI)

Heather Forrest

GNSO Council Vice Chair - Heather Forrest - (SOI) – Asia Pacific / October 2014 – AGM 2016

Paul D. McGrady

GNSO Counselor – Paul D. McGrady (SOI) – North America / October 2015 – AGM 2017

Victoria Sheckler

CSG Representative – Victoria Sheckler (SOI)

Gregory S. Shatan

CSG Representative (Alternate) - Gregory S. Shatan (SOI)

Brian Scarpelli

Participation Coordinator - Brian Scarpelli (SOI)



Web Presence:

Mailing List: