Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

Registries Stakeholder Group - 2016

Last Updated:

The gTLD Registries Stakeholder Group (RySG) is a recognized entity within the Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO) formed according to Article X, Section 5 (September 2009) of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) Bylaws.

The primary role of the RySG is to represent the interests of gTLD registry operators (or sponsors in the case of sponsored gTLDs) ("Registries") (i) that are currently under contract with ICANN to provide gTLD registry services in support of one or more gTLDs; (ii) who agree to be bound by consensus policies in that contract; and (iii) who voluntarily choose to be members of the RySG. The RySG may include Interest Groups as defined by Article IV. The RySG represents the views of the RySG to the GNSO Council and the ICANN Board of Directors with particular emphasis on ICANN consensus policies that relate to interoperability, technical reliability and stable operation of the Internet or domain name system.

The guiding principles for the RySG, including its leaders and Interest Groups are fairness, openness, and transparency in all RySG policies, practices, and operations. The service standards for leadership positions include impartiality, accountability, and conflicts of interest declarations. The behavioral expectations of all RySG members, Interest Groups and participants include adhering to ICANN Bylaws and Policies; supporting the consensus model; treating others with dignity, respect, courtesy, and civility; listening attentively to understand others; acting with honesty, sincerity, and integrity; and maintaining community good standing.


GNSO Council Representatives

Keith Drazek

GNSO Counselor - Keith Drazek (SOI) – North America /2016 – AGM 2018

Rubens Kuhl

GNSO Counselor – Rubens Kuhl (SOI) - Brazil / October 2017 - AGM 2019

Donna Austin

GNSO Council Vice Chair – Donna Austin – Asia Pacific (SOI) 2016 – AGM 2018

Executive Committee

Paul Diaz

Chair – Paul Diaz (SOI) 2016 – 2018

Samantha Demetriou

Vice Chair, Administration - Samantha Demetriou – (SOI) (term ends 2019)

Stephane Van Gelder

Vice Chair, Policy - Stephane Van Gelder – (SOI) (term ends 2018)


Karen Day

Treasurer - Karen Day (SOI) (term ends 2019)

RySG Representative to the Nominating Committee

Jon Nevett

Jon Nevett (SOI) (term ends 2018)

RySG Operations Coordinator

Cherie Stubbs

Cherie Stubbs


Sue Schuler

Sue Schuler



Web Presence:

Mailing List:

  • Not public, please contact RySG Secretariat for more information.