Agenda for GNSO Council Meeting 15 July 2010

Last Updated: 05 August 2010
Date: 
15 July 2010

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Council Operating Procedures approved 28 October 2009 for the GNSO Council.
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/operating-procedures-revised-draft-clean-09oct09-en.pdf

For convenience:

  • An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.
  • An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.

Meeting Time 11:00 UTC

See the following and http://www.timeanddate.com/ for other times:

04:00 PDT; 06:00 CDT; 07:00 EDT; 08:00 Buenos Aires; 08:00 Brazil; 13:00 CEST; 15:00 Moscow; 16:00 Pakistan; 19:00 Hong Kong; 20:00 Tokyo, 21:00 Melbourne

Dial-in numbers will be sent individually to Council members. Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if a dial out call is needed.

Please click on the link to join the GNSO Council Adobe Connect room
http://icann.na3.acrobat.com/gnsocouncil/
Please enter as a 'guest'.

Item 1: Administrative matters (10 minutes)

1.1 Roll call of Council members

1.2 Update any statements of interest

1.3 Review/amend agenda

1.4. Note the status of minutes for the previous Council meeting per the GNSO Operating Procedures:

Item 2: Prioritization of GNSO work (15 Minutes)

2.1 Refer to posted project ratings:

http://gnso.icann.org/drafts/draft-work-prioritization-project-list-value-ratings-23jun10-en.pdf

2.2 Discussion

2.3 Evaluation of the prioritization process

  • Lessons learned?
  • Areas for improvement?
  • How do we use the ratings?
  • Questions raised by the DT (Ken Bour)
  • Suggestions for next steps?

Item 3: GNSO Affirmation of Commitments (AoC) Review Team (RT) Endorsements for Preserving security, stability and resiliency of the DNS (SSR) & Whois Policies (15 minutes)

http://gnso.icann.org/aoc-reviews/

3.1 Key dates in the endorsement process

  • GNSO slate of endorsements is due not later than the end of August
  • Next Council meetings: 5 August & 26 August
  • Initial Council action on Stakeholder Group (SG) endorsements needs to occur on 5 August to allow for any needed follow-up action on 26 August 2010.
  • SG endorsements & any alternates are needed by 28 July 2010.

3.2 Review of the GNSO process (Margie Milam)

  • Questions?

3.3 Discussion

Item 4: Whois Studies (15 minutes)

4.1 Refer to:

4.2 Brief overview of the study choices (Lisa Phifer)
http://brussels38.icann.org/meetings/brussels2010/presentation-whois-report-23jun10-en.pdf

  • Discussion

4.3 Motion to proceed with Study # 1

4.4 Discussion of how to proceed in selecting studies

4.5 Next steps?

Item 5: Vertical Integration (VI) PDP WG (20 Minutes)

5.1 Progress report (Margie Milam)

5.2 Discussion

5.3 Next steps?

5.4 Timeline?

Item 6: Registration Abuse Policies Working Group Final Report (20 Minutes)

6.1 Refer to Final Report:
http://gnso.icann.org/issues/rap/rap-wg-final-report-29may10-en.pdf

6.2 Registration Abuse Policies Working Group Final Report presentation in Brussels June 2010
http://brussels38.icann.org/meetings/brussels2010/presentation-rap-report-20jun10-en.pdf

6.3 Summary of Recommendations (Marika Konings):
http://gnso.icann.org/issues/rap/rap-final-report-conclusion-recommendations-13jul10-en.pdf

6.4 Council questions

6.5 Plan for evaluating & acting on the recommendations?

Item 7: Resolution on New gTLD String Similarity Evaluation (15 minutes)

7.1 Refer to:

7.2 Summary/analysis of public comments (?)

7.3 Motion:
https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?15_july_motions

  • Reading of the motion (Edmon)
  • Discussion
  • Vote
    (Note that absentee voting will not be allowed for this motion.)

Item 8: Drafting team for draft DNS-CERT/SSR WG charter (5 minutes)

8.1 GNSO Volunteers:

  • Terry Davis (NCA)
  • Rafik Dammak (NCSG)
  • Greg Aaron (RySG, Afilias)
  • Kathy Kleiman (RySG, PIR)
  • Keith Drazek (RySG, VeriSign)
  • Mike Rodenbaugh (CSG, CBUC)
  • Zahid Jamil (CSG, CBUC)
  • Rodney Joffe (RySG, NeuStar
  • Jaime Wagner (CSG, ISCPC)

8.2 Status report (Chuck Gomes)

Item 9: Audio-casting of Council meetings (5 minutes)

9.1 Report on costs & methods (Marika Konings or Rob Hoggarth)

9.2 Implementation status (Marika Konings or Rob Hoggarth)

Item 10: Other Business (5 minutes)

10.1 Standing committee to monitor GNSO Improvement implementation

  • Note: As part of the motion to approve implementation of the OSC CCT recommendations, the Council resolved to convene a standing committee whose role will be to monitor, coordinate, and manage the continuing implementation of the various recommendations emanating from the chartered GNSO Improvements Work Teams.
  • Any suggestions regarding how to do this?

10.2 Update on Councilor and Council Officer Elections Processes

10.3 Note: Going forward regular WG/WT/DT status updates will be provided in the GNSO Project Status List; a link can be found at the GNSO Home page.

Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article X, Section 3)

9. Except as otherwise specified in these Bylaws, Annex A hereto, or the GNSO Operating Procedures, the default threshold to pass a GNSO Council motion or other voting action requires a simple majority vote of each House. The voting thresholds described below shall apply to the following GNSO actions:

  1. Create an Issues Report: requires an affirmative vote of more than 25% vote of each House or majority of one House;
  2. Initiate a Policy Development Process (“PDP”) Within Scope (as described in Annex A): requires an affirmative vote of more than 33% of each House or more than 66% of one House;
  3. Initiate a PDP Not Within Scope: requires an affirmative vote of more than 75% of one House and a majority of the other House (“GNSO Supermajority”);
  4. Approve a PDP Recommendation Without a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a majority of each House and further requires that one GNSO Council member representative of at least 3 of the 4 Stakeholder Groups supports the Recommendation;
  5. Approve a PDP Recommendation With a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a GNSO Supermajority; and
  6. Approve a PDP Recommendation Imposing New Obligations on Certain Contracting Parties: where an ICANN contract provision specifies that “a two-thirds vote of the council” demonstrates the presence of a consensus, the GNSO Supermajority vote threshold will have to be met or exceeded with respect to any contracting party affected by such contract provision.

Appendix 2: Absentee Voting Procedures (Council Operating Procedures 4.4)

Members that are absent from a meeting at the time of a vote on the following items may vote by absentee ballot:

  1. Initiate a policy development process;
  2. Forward a policy recommendation to the Board;
  3. Recommend amendments to the ICANN Bylaws;
  4. Fill a position open for election.

The GNSO Secretariat will provide reasonable means for transmitting and authenticating absentee ballots, which could include voting by telephone, e- mail, or web-based interface. Absentee ballots must be submitted within 72 hours following the start of the meeting in which a vote is initiated, except that, in exceptional circumstances announced at the time of the vote, the Chair may reduce this time to 24 hours or extend the time to 7 days. There must be a quorum for the meeting in which the vote is initiated.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Local time between March and October, Summer in the NORTHERN hemisphere
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reference (Coordinated Universal Time) 11:00UTC
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
California, USA (PST) UTC-8+1DST 04:00
Cedar Rapids, USA (CDT) UTC-6+1DST 06:00
New York/Washington DC, USA (EDT) UTC-5+1DST 07:00
Buenos Aires, Argentina UTC-3+0DST 08:00
Rio de Janeiro/Sao Paulo Brazil UTC-3+0DST 08:00
Dublin, Ireland (GMT) UTC+1DST 12:00
Darmstadt, Germany (CET) UTC+1+1DST 13:00
Paris, France (CET) UTC+1+1DST 13:00
Moscow, Russian Federation (MSK) UTC+3+1DST 15:00
Karachi, Pakistan UTC+5+0DST 16:00
Hong Kong, China UTC+8+0DST 19:00
Tokyo, Japan UTC+9+0DST 20:00
Melbourne/Sydney Australia (EDT) UTC+10+0DST 21:00
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The DST starts/ends on last Sunday of October 2010, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions)