Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

WHOIS Task Force 3 minutes

Last Updated:
31 August 2009
Date

WHOIS Task Force 3 Teleconference October 6, 2004 - Minutes

ATTENDEES:

GNSO Constituency representatives:
Intellectual Property Interests Constituency - Brian Darville - Chair:

Internet Service Providers and connectivity providers Constituency - Greg Ruth

gTLD Registries constituency: - Ken Stubbs

Government Advisory Committee (GAC) liaison - Suzanne Sene

ICANN Staff Manager: Barbara Roseman

GNSO Secretariat: Glen de Saint Géry



Absent:

Registrars Constituency - Ross Rader - apologies

Commercial and Business Users constituency - Sarah Deutsch

Intellectual Property Interests Constituency - Kiyoshi Tsuru

Intellectual Property Interests Constituency - Terry Clark

Non Commercial Users constituency - Frannie Wellings

At-Large Advisory Committee (ALAC) liaisons: - Vittorio Bertola





MP3 recording on

http://gnso.icann.org/calendar/#oct

6 October Whois tf 3 teleconf 7:30 LA,10:30 EST, 14:30 UTC 16 :30 CET

Brian Darville referred to the draft recommendations sent to the task force mailing list:

Draft TF3 Recommendations

I. Steps to Verify & Correct Inaccuracy in Response to a Complaint

A. If a registrar receives a complaint about the accuracy of registrant data, whether by the Whois Data Problems Reporting System, or by any other means, that registrar shall take reasonable steps to verify the accuracy of that data by simultaneously contacting the registrant through at least two of the following four methods:

1) email;

2) telephone number;

3) facsimile number;

or 3) postal mail.

If one method fails, then another method shall be used. If both of the two pursued methods fail (e.g., email bounce-back; telephone or fax disconnected; or a return to sender message), registrar shall place the domain name on hold, allowing registrant 15 days to respond before the domain name is cancelled. If it is apparent that a registrant has willfully provided inaccurate contact data, a registrar may immediately place the domain name on hold without first attempting to contact the registrant.

B. If a registrant responds to registrar notifications of inaccuracy within the 15 day time limit, providing updated data, registrar shall verify the accuracy of at least two of the following three updated data elements:

1) email;

2) telephone number; or

3) facsimile number.

Verification may consist of the registrar using the updated data to effectively contact the registrant, confirming the registrants correction of its contact data. If one element remains inaccurate, registrar shall verify the third element. If both remain inaccurate registrar shall immediately cancel the domain name registration.



II. Additional Steps to Verify & Correct Inaccuracy in Response to a Complaint

A. Registrar shall provide any complainant with the option of expedited verification and correction. If this option is chosen, the registrar may charge a fee to be determined by registrar [not to exceed $xx] and shall promptly advise complainant of the completion of each of the following steps:

1. Registrar uses all of the following methods simultaneously to contact the registrant:

a. email;

b. Telephone;

c. Facsimile;

d. Postal mail; and

2. If at least two of the four contact methods fails, registrar immediately places domain name on hold, allowing registrant 15 days to respond before the domain name is cancel; or

3. If registrant does respond to inaccuracy notifications, registrar individually verifies the accuracy of the following updated data elements:

a. email;

b. Telephone;

c. Facsimile; and

d. Postal mail.

B. A registrant whose domain name was cancelled or placed on hold due to inaccurate data, discovered through this expedited process, must first reimburse the complainants fee, plus a reasonable handling fee, to the registrar before re-activating or re-registering its domain name. The registrar shall promptly reimburse the complainant.



Brian Darville suggested changing the period of 15 days to 30 days as was preferred and suggested by task force members.

Suzanne Sene suggested that when the task force had reached some conclusions she would draft a report for prior approval before it was sent to the GAC.

Brian Darville suggested that the other constituencies should comment before further work could be done.



Brian Darville thanked everyone for their presence and participation and ended the call at 11:00 EST, 16:00 UTC.


Next call: Wednesday 13 October 15:30 UTC, 10:30 EST, 7:30 Los Angeles, 16:30 CET.