Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

WHOIS Task Force 1 minutes

Last Updated:
22 October 2018
Date

WHOIS Task Force 1 Teleconference March 16, 2004 - Minutes

ATTENDEES:

GNSO Constituency representatives:
gTLD Registries constituency: - Jeff Neuman - Chair
Commercial and Business Users constituency - David Fares
gTLD Registries constituency - David Maher
Intellectual Property Interests Constituency - Jeremy Banks
Internet Service and Connectivity Providers constituency: - Antonio Harris

GNSO Secretariat: Glen de Saint Géry

Absent:
ICANN Staff Manager: Barbara Roseman with apologies
Registrars constituency - Paul Stahura
Non Commercial Users Constituency - Milton Mueller
At-Large Advisory Committee (ALAC) liaisons - Wendy Seltzer/Thomas Roessler

Jeff Neuman reported that he had sent round the summarized responses received so far to the list, commenting that most of the data came from Intellectual Property owners, but that there were no clear patterns. It would be difficult to make recommendations with so little data on an issue that would have such a profound effect.

Constituency statements:
It would appear that these will not be submitted by the deadline, March 19. In addition there seems to be little discussion about port 43 access among the constituencies except for the Registrars and gTLD registries who have strong views on the issue but should be cautious not to bias the report.
Tony Harris asked whether someone who went to a registrar who sold bulk access was required to complete a request which could give information about why the data was needed implying that the registrars may already have the information the task force is looking for and it could be used statistically without disclosing business practices.
Jeff Neuman suggested asking the registrars, but that in most cases data was mined and that there was no online validation when accessing port 43.

Jeff Neuman, Paul Stahura and Milton Mueller meet to complete the registrars and registries questionnaire concerning technical information.

It was suggested that the Constituencies refer to the task force terms of reference as guidelines for their position statements.

Next Call:

Chart out idea of what constituencies feel about issues.

Jeff Neuman thanked everyone for their presence and participation and ended the call at 16:25 UTC.

Next call: Tuesday 23 March 2004, 16:00 UTC, 11:00 EST, 8:00 Los Angeles, 17:00 CET.