Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

Minutes of the GNSO Council Meeting Part 2 held on 7 November 2016

Last Updated:

Agenda and Documents

Coordinated Universal Time: 09:45 UTC
01:45 Los Angeles; 04:45 Washington; 09:45 London; 15:15 Hyderabad
Meeting Times 09:45 UTC

List of attendees:

NCA – Non Voting –Erika Mann – absent, apologies
Contracted Parties House
Registrar Stakeholder Group: James Bladel, Michele Neylon, Darcy Southwell
gTLD Registries Stakeholder Group:
Donna Austin, Keith Drazek, Rubens Kühl
Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA):
Hsu Phen Valerie Tan - remote participation
Non-Contracted Parties House
Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG);
Philip Corwin, Susan Kawaguchi, Wolf-Ulrich Knoben, Tony Harris, Paul McGrady, Heather Forrest Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group
(NCSG): Amr Elsadr – absent, Temporary Alternate Matthew Shears, Stephanie Perrin, Rafik Dammak, Stefania Milan, Edward Morris, Marilia Maciel – absent, Temporary Alternate Sarah Clayton
Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA):
Julf (Johan) Helsingius - remote participation
GNSO Council Liaisons/Observers:
Cheryl Langdon Or– ALAC Liaison
Patrick Myles - ccNSO Observer
Carlos Raúl Gutierrez – GNSO liaison to the GAC

Main Meeting Page:
Adobe Connect Recording

Item 1: Seating of the 2016 / 2017Council

1.1 - Roll Call

1.2 - Statements of interest
Darcy Southwell – SOI Registrars Stakeholder Group
Michele Neylon– SOI Registrars Stakeholder Group
Rafik Dammak– SOI Non Commercial Stakeholder Group
Erika Mann - SOI Nominating Committee Appointee – not yet available

1.3 - Review/amend agenda

Add: Update from ICANN Ombudsman

Herb Waye, the ICANN Ombudsman's background is in law enforcement and education.
The Ombudsman’s short term focus is outreach - developing and building on existing relationships and creating new ones to assist in the Ombudsman function.
The office of the ombudsman should not only be a complaint intake mechanism but more of a community resource for when relationships break down.
The community is encouraged to read the ‘Expected Standards of Behavior’ manual and to visit the Ombudsman's office to introduce themselves.
Herb Waye thanked the GNSO Chair, and the council for the opportunity to address them.

Item 2: Election of the Chair

James Bladel handed the chair to Heather Forrest who chaired this section of the meeting.
One nomination was received for this position, James Bladel from the Contracted Parties House. The GNSO Council held a question & answer session with the candidate on Friday, 4 November 2016 during the GNSO Working Session.
There were no questions or comments from the floor.
As approved by the Council, the vote was conducted by a show of hands and those participating remotely, namely Valerie Tan and Julf Helsingius, voted verbally.

Voting results

  • James Bladel was elected unanimously as GNSO Council Chair for the one-year term ending at the 2017 Annual General Meeting (AGM).

No GNSO Council vice-chair announcement was made.

Heather Forrest congratulated James Bladel on being elected GNSO Council Chair for a second term of office and handed the chair back to him to continue the Council meeting.

Item 3: Any Other Business

The following action items arose from interventions from the floor.

Action Items:

  • Council to review and provide feedback on the proposed limited scope for the upcoming Whois Review
  • Council to finalize response to Board letter on IGO/Red Cross protections (note: this may be covered by the Council’s response to the GAC Communique)

James Bladel adjourned the GNSO Council meeting and thanked everyone for their participation in the meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 17:00 IST (11:45 UTC)

The next GNSO Council Meeting will take place on Thursday, 1 December 2016 at 21:00 UTC.