GNSO Council Teleconference Agenda - 28 January 2010

Last Updated: 24 January 2018
Date: 
28 January 2009

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Council Operating Procedures approved 28 October 2009 for the GNSO Council.
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/operating-procedures-revised-draft-clean-09oct09-en.pdf

For convenience:

  • An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.
  • An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.

Meeting Time 11:00 UTC

See the following and http://www.timeanddate.com for other times:
03:00 PST; 05:00 CST; 06:00 EST; 08:00 Buenos Aires; 09:00 Brazil; 12:00 CET; 14:00 Moscow; 16:00 Pakistan; 19:00 Hong Kong; 20:00 Tokyo; 22:00 Melbourne.

Dial-in numbers will be sent individually to Council members. Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if a dial out call is needed.

Item 1: Administrative matters (10 minutes)

1.1 Roll call of Council members

1.2 Update any statements of interest

1.3 Review/amend agenda

1.4. Note the status of minutes for the following Council meetings per the new Council Operating Procedures:

Item 2: Decision regarding initiation of a PDP about vertical separation of Registries and Registrars (30 minutes)

2.1 Refer to Issues Report on Vertical Integration:
http://gnso.icann.org/issues/vertical-integration/report-04dec09-en.pdf

2.2 Summary of and rationale for Issues Report recommendations (Margie Milam)

2.3 Discussion

2.4 Motion to initiate a PDP
See motion on the Wiki https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?28_january_2010_motions

Note: Absentee voting will be allowed.

Item 3: Prioritization of GNSO work (5 minutes)

3.1 Status Report (Olga Cavalli)

3.2 Next steps?

Item 4: Joint ccNSO-GNSO IDN Working Group (JIG) Update (10 minutes)

4.1 GNSO JIG membership update (Glen de St. Géry)

4.2 Working Group status report (Edmon Chung)

4.3 Approval of new GNSO JIG members:

Rafik Dammak and Karen Anne Hayne as GNSO JIG members and Avri Doria as a JIG observer.

Item 5: Affirmation of Commitments (AoC) Review Team Draft Proposal (20 minutes)

5.1 Refer to the Draft Proposal for Affirmation of Commitments (AoC) Review Teams
http://www.icann.org/en/reviews/affirmation/affirmation-reviews-draft-proposal-26dec09-en.pdf

5.2 Refer to the proposed GNSO Council Comments
http://gnso.icann.org/drafts/draft-gnso-council-response-to-draft-proposal-on-affirmation-reviews-requirements-implementation-processes-en.pdf

5.2.1 Overview (Bill Drake)

5.2.2 Discussion

5.2.3 Motion See motion on the Wiki https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?28_january_2010_motions

5.3 How should GNSO volunteers be identified as nominees for each of the four review teams?

5.3.1 Preliminary thoughts from the working team (Bill Drake)

5.3.2 Discussion

5.3.3 Next steps?

Item 6: Nairobi Meeting Planning (15 minutes)

6.1 Staff update on safety and security
http://gnso.icann.org/mailing-lists/archives/council/msg08202.html

Community calls:
1) Thursday, 28th January, 0600 UTC (1130 New Delhi, 0900 Nairobi, 1400
Beijing, 1700 Sydney (for the Eastern Hemisphere)
2) Friday, 29th January, 2000 UTC (1200 Los Angeles, 1500 New York, 1700
Buenos Aires, 1800 Sao Paulo (for the Western Hemisphere)

6.2 Meeting plan (Stéphane van Gelder)

6.2.1 Refer to draft schedule
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/nairobi-agenda-26jan10-en.pdf

6.2.2 Topics for joint meeting with the GAC:

1) New gTLD policy implementation, including Expression of Interests;
2) Affirmation of Commitments (AoC).

6.2.2.1 Should we prepare discussion points and/or questions from the GNSO?

6.2.2.2 Drafting team to prepare for joint GNSO/GAC meetings?

6.3 Council Breakfast

Item 7: Status updates (10 minutes)

7.1 Questions/comments on written status updates sent in advance by leaders of Working Groups, Work Teams, staff projects, etc.?

Status updates http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/notes-council-28jan10-en.htm

Item 8: Any Other Business (10 minutes)

8.1 Election to fill Board seat #13

8.1.1 Refer to Motion

https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?28_january_2010_motions

8.1.2 Refer to revised GNSO Operating Procedures
http://gnso.icann.org/drafts/gnso-operating-procedures-redline-28jan10-en.pdf

8.1.3 Discussion

8.1.4 Approval of an exception to the 8-day motion requirement?

8.1.5 Action on Motion?

8.2 Topics for joint GNSO/ccNSO lunch meeting in Nairobi?

Item 9: The updated GNSO Project Status List (10 minutes)
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/pending-projects-list.pdf

9.1 Questions/comments?

Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article X, Section 3)

9. Except as otherwise specified in these Bylaws, Annex A hereto, or the GNSO Operating Procedures, the default threshold to pass a GNSO Council motion or other voting action requires a simple majority vote of each House. The voting thresholds described below shall apply to the following GNSO actions:

  1. Create an Issues Report: requires an affirmative vote of more than 25% vote of each House or majority of one House;
  2. Initiate a Policy Development Process (“PDP”) Within Scope (as described in Annex A): requires an affirmative vote of more than 33% of each House or more than 66% of one House;
  3. Initiate a PDP Not Within Scope: requires an affirmative vote of more than 75% of one House and a majority of the other House (“GNSO Supermajority”);
  4. Approve a PDP Recommendation Without a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a majority of each House and further requires that one GNSO Council member representative of at least 3 of the 4 Stakeholder Groups supports the Recommendation;
  5. Approve a PDP Recommendation With a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a GNSO Supermajority; and
  6. Approve a PDP Recommendation Imposing New Obligations on Certain Contracting Parties: where an ICANN contract provision specifies that “a two-thirds vote of the council” demonstrates the presence of a consensus, the GNSO Supermajority vote threshold will have to be met or exceeded with respect to any contracting party affected by such contract provision.

Appendix 2: Absentee Voting Procedures (Council Operating Procedures 4.4)

Members that are absent from a meeting at the time of a vote on the following items may vote by absentee ballot:

  1. Initiate a policy development process;
  2. Forward a policy recommendation to the Board;
  3. Recommend amendments to the ICANN Bylaws;
  4. Fill a position open for election.

The GNSO Secretariat will provide reasonable means for transmitting and authenticating absentee ballots, which could include voting by telephone, e- mail, or web-based interface. Absentee ballots must be submitted within 72 hours following the start of the meeting in which a vote is initiated, except that, in exceptional circumstances announced at the time of the vote, the Chair may reduce this time to 24 hours or extend the time to 7 days. There must be a quorum for the meeting in which the vote is initiated.

(03:00 Los Angeles, 06:00 Washington DC, 11:00 London, 12:00 Brussels, 22:00 Melbourne)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Local time between October and March, Winter in the NORTHERN hemisphere
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reference (Coordinated Universal Time) UTC 11:00
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
California, USA (PST) UTC-8+0DST 03:00
Cedar Rapids, USA (CST) UTC-6+0DST 05:00
New York/Washington DC, USA (EST) UTC-5+0DST 06:00
Buenos Aires, Argentina UTC-3+0DST 08:00
Rio de Janeiro/Sao Paulo Brazil UTC-2+1DST 09:00
Dublin, Ireland (GMT) UTC+0DST 11:00
Darmstadt, Germany (CET) UTC+1+0DST 12:00
Paris, France (CET) UTC+1+0DST 12:00
Moscow, Russian Federation (MSK) UTC+3+0DST 14:00
Karachi, Pakistan UTC+5+0DST 16:00
Hong Kong, China UTC+8+0DST 19:00
Tokyo, Japan UTC+9+0DST 20:00
Melbourne,/Sydney Australia (EDT) UTC+10+1DST 22:00
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
The DST starts/ends on last Sunday of March 2010, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
For other places see http://www.timeanddate.com