GNSO Council Teleconference Agenda - 18 February 2010

Last Updated: 17 February 2010
Date: 
18 February 2010

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Council Operating Procedures approved 28 October 2009 for the GNSO Council.
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/operating-procedures-revised-draft-clean-09oct09-en.pdf

For convenience:

  • An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.
  • An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.

Meeting Time 15:00 UTC

See the following and http://www.timeanddate.com/ for other times:
07:00 PST; 09:00 CST; 10:00 EST; 12:00 Buenos Aires; 13:00 Brazil; 16:00 CET; 18:00 Moscow; 20:00 Pakistan; 23:00 Hong Kong; 00:00 Tokyo; 02:00 Melbourne.

Dial-in numbers will be sent individually to Council members. Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if a dial out call is needed.

Please click on the link to join the GNSO Council Adobe Connect room
http://icann.na3.acrobat.com/gnsocouncil/
Please enter as a 'guest'.

Item 1: Administrative matters (10 minutes)

1.1 Roll call of Council members

1.2 Update any statements of interest

1.3 Review/amend agenda

1.4. Note the status of minutes for the following Council meetings per the new Council Operating Procedures:

Item 2: Vertical Integration (VI) Policy Development Process (PDP) (15 minutes)

2.1 Refer to the motion passed on 28 January 2010
http://gnso.icann.org/resolutions/#201001

2.2 Charter Drafting Team volunteers:

Berry Cobb, Mike Rodenbaugh - Business Constituency
Brian Cute - Afilias gTLD Registries Stakeholder Group
Tony Harris - ISPCP Constituency
Avri Doria, Milton Mueller - Non Commercial Stakeholder Group
Jeff Eckhaus, Jean-Christophe Vignes, Jothan Frakes - Registrars Stakeholder Group
Kristina Rosette, Victoria Carrington, Austin Scott - IPC

Chuck Gomes - GNSO Council chair (Ex-Officio Observer)
Olga Cavalli - NCA - GNSO Council vice-chair
Stéphane van Gelder - DT Coordinator - GNSO Council vice-chair

ICANN Staff: Margie.Milam - Staff support, Liz Gasster, Dan Halloran, Amy Stathos, Marika Konings, Glen de Saint Géry, Gisella Gruber-White

2.3 Charter Drafting Team Status Report (Margie Milam)

2.4 Advance request for volunteers for the VI PDP WG

2.5 Next steps

2.5.1 Target date for recommended charter 1 March 2010

2.5.2 Council action on charter & official start of VI PDP WG: 10 March 2010

Item 3: Prioritization of GNSO work (5 minutes)

3.1 Status Report (Olga Cavalli)

3.2 Next steps?

3.3 Plans for Nairobi (Olga Cavalli)

3.4 Overextension of GNSO Resources (Liz Gasster)

Item 4: Proposal for GNSO endorsement of Affirmation of Commitments (AoC) Review Team volunteers (30 minutes)

4.1 Refer to the Draft Proposal for Affirmation of Commitments (AoC) Review Teams
http://www.icann.org/en/reviews/affirmation/affirmation-reviews-draft-proposal-26dec09-en.pdf

4.2 Refer to the proposed procedures for GNSO endorsements of AoC Review Team volunteers GNSO Council Comments at:

(Proposed Process for GNSO Endorsement of Nominees to the Affirmation of Commitments Accountability and Transparency Review Team (PDF)
http://gnso.icann.org/drafts/gnso-endorsement-nominees-process-proposal-10feb10-en.pdf)

4.2.1 Overview (Bill Drake)

AoC DT Action Plan for Development of GNSO Endorsement of RT Volunteers (PDF)
http://gnso.icann.org/drafts/gnso-endorsement-volunteers-action-plan-10feb10-en.pdf

4.2.2 Discussion

4.2.3 Motion See motion on the Wiki https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?18_february_2010_motions

(Note that absentee voting will not be allowed for this motion; see Appendix 2 below)

4.3.3 Next steps?

4.3.3.1 Form an Evaluation Team made up of one Councilor from each Stakeholder Group plus one Nominating Committee Appointee to rate the responses and report to the Council list not later than 25 February 2010.

  • Identify lead ICANN Policy Staff Support person
  • Identify Council coordinator/liaison

4.3.3.2 Finalize the time for the Special Council Teleconference call on 26 February 2010.

4.3.3.3 Confirm that the Affirmation of Commitments (AoC) Review Drafting Team (DT) will continue its work to develop a longer-term process for Council consideration in April

Item 5: Nairobi Meeting Planning (25 minutes)

5.1 Refer to final GNSO meeting schedule
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/nairobi-agenda-18feb10-en.pdf

5.2 Overview of schedule (Stéphane van Gelder)

5.2.1 Discussion

5.2.2 Refer to proposed approach for joint GAC/GNSO meeting in Nairobi:

http://gnso.icann.org/drafts/draft-plan-for-joint-gac-17feb10-en.pdf

5.2.2.1 Overview (Rosemary Sinclair)

5.2.2.2 Discussion

5.2.2.3 Suggestions for changes to the approach?

5.3 .Possible Topics for joint GNSO/ccNSO lunch meeting

5.3.1 AoC

5.3.2 Selected Joint ccNSO/GNSO IDN Group (JIG) topics

5.3.3 Other?

5.4 Possible Topics for Board/Staff/GNSO dinner meeting

5.4.1 Ongoing new gTLD delays

5.4.2. Other?

5.5 Open Council Meeting Agenda

5.5.1 Refer to proposed agenda
https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?proposed_agenda_10_march_2010

5.5.2 Discussion

5.5.3 Edits to the agenda

Item 6: Status updates (10 minutes)

6.1 Questions/comments on written status updates sent in advance by leaders of Working Groups, Work Teams, staff projects, etc.?

Status updates http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/notes-council-18feb10-en.htm

Item 7: Any Other Business (10 minutes)

7.1 Introduction to the STIDAG Excerpt (Margie Milam)

Special Trademark Issues Report Summary of Public Comments
http://www.icann.org/en/topics/new-gtlds/summary-analysis-special-trademarks-issues-report-15feb10-en.pdf

7.2 Other Excerpts and Public Comment Postings of 15 February 2010 (Margie Milam)

Item 8: The updated GNSO Project Status List (5 minutes)
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/pending-projects-list.pdf

8.1 Questions/comments?

Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article X, Section 3)

9. Except as otherwise specified in these Bylaws, Annex A hereto, or the GNSO Operating Procedures, the default threshold to pass a GNSO Council motion or other voting action requires a simple majority vote of each House. The voting thresholds described below shall apply to the following GNSO actions:

  1. Create an Issues Report: requires an affirmative vote of more than 25% vote of each House or majority of one House;
  2. Initiate a Policy Development Process (“PDP”) Within Scope (as described in Annex A): requires an affirmative vote of more than 33% of each House or more than 66% of one House;
  3. Initiate a PDP Not Within Scope: requires an affirmative vote of more than 75% of one House and a majority of the other House (“GNSO Supermajority”);
  4. Approve a PDP Recommendation Without a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a majority of each House and further requires that one GNSO Council member representative of at least 3 of the 4 Stakeholder Groups supports the Recommendation;
  5. Approve a PDP Recommendation With a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a GNSO Supermajority; and
  6. Approve a PDP Recommendation Imposing New Obligations on Certain Contracting Parties: where an ICANN contract provision specifies that “a two-thirds vote of the council” demonstrates the presence of a consensus, the GNSO Supermajority vote threshold will have to be met or exceeded with respect to any contracting party affected by such contract provision.

Appendix 2: Absentee Voting Procedures (Council Operating Procedures 4.4)

Members that are absent from a meeting at the time of a vote on the following items may vote by absentee ballot:

  1. Initiate a policy development process;
  2. Forward a policy recommendation to the Board;
  3. Recommend amendments to the ICANN Bylaws;
  4. Fill a position open for election.

The GNSO Secretariat will provide reasonable means for transmitting and authenticating absentee ballots, which could include voting by telephone, e- mail, or web-based interface. Absentee ballots must be submitted within 72 hours following the start of the meeting in which a vote is initiated, except that, in exceptional circumstances announced at the time of the vote, the Chair may reduce this time to 24 hours or extend the time to 7 days. There must be a quorum for the meeting in which the vote is initiated.

(07:00 Los Angeles, 10:00 Washington DC, 15:00 London, 16:00 Brussels, 02:00 Melbourne, next day)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Local time between October and March, Winter in the NORTHERN hemisphere
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reference (Coordinated Universal Time) UTC 15:00
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
California, USA (PST) UTC-8+0DST 07:00
Cedar Rapids, USA (CST) UTC-6+0DST 09:00
New York/Washington DC, USA (EST) UTC-5+0DST 10:00
Buenos Aires, Argentina UTC-3+0DST 12:00
Rio de Janeiro/Sao Paulo Brazil UTC-2+1DST 13:00
Dublin, Ireland (GMT) UTC+0DST 15:00
Darmstadt, Germany (CET) UTC+1+0DST 16:00
Paris, France (CET) UTC+1+0DST 16:00
Moscow, Russian Federation (MSK) UTC+3+0DST 18:00
Karachi, Pakistan UTC+5+0DST 20:00
Hong Kong, China UTC+8+0DST 23:00
Tokyo, Japan UTC+9+0DST 00:00
Melbourne,/Sydney Australia (EDT) UTC+10+1DST 02:00 (next day)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The DST starts/ends on last Sunday of March 2010, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For other places see http://www.timeanddate.com/