Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

WHOIS Task Force 1 minutes

Last Updated:
22 October 2018
Date

-WHOIS Task Force 1 Teleconference March 9, 2004 - Minutes

ATTENDEES:

GNSO Constituency representatives:
gTLD Registries constituency: - Jeff Neuman - Chair
Commercial and Business Users constituency - David Fares
gTLD Registries constituency - David Maher
Intellectual Property Interests Constituency - Jeremy Banks

Liaisons:
At-Large Advisory Committee (ALAC) liaisons - Wendy Seltzer
GNSO Secretariat: Glen de Saint Géry

Absent:
ICANN Staff Manager: Barbara Roseman with apologies
Internet Service and Connectivity Providers constituency: - Antonio Harris
Registrars constituency - Paul Stahura
Non Commercial Users Constituency - Milton Mueller

Jeff Neuman referred to his presentation at the Rome Whois workshop and reported that there had been good feedback. He explained to about 100 participants present that few survey responses had been received, urging people to respond and throwing out questions to the audience.
A number of registrar participants responded saying why they needed Whois information but few indicated where they obtained the data from, not being quite sure whether it was by port 43 or not. They raised a valid point that when one goes to a website for information, one does not know what that provider uses to obtain the Whois information.
Jeff Neuman suggested that the names of the providers be made known so that the task force could enquire how the information was obtained.

Jeff Neuman reminded the group that the preliminary report was due in one month, April 9, and suggested more activity on the mailing list over the next weeks. The 10 survey responses received should be considered as feedback and summarized.

Jeff Neuman proposed that each participant on the call summarize several responses (date only mentioned) and the Secretary would resend the survey archive address which should not be published on a mailing list to respect confidentiality.

Deadline: Tuesday 16 March for discussion on the call

Wendy Seltzer responses, February 5, 9, 11.
David Maher responses February 16, 16, 17.
Jeremy Banks responses February 18, 23.
David Fares responses March 3
Jeff Neuman remaining responses

Next Call:

1. Survey Results
2. Constituency policy positions specifically referring to the task force 1 terms of reference

Jeff Neuman thanked everyone for their presence and participation and ended the call at 16:30 UTC.

Next call: Tuesday 16 March 2004, 16:00 UTC, 11:00 EST, 8:00 Los Angeles, 17:00 CET.