Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

GNSO Council Special Meeting Minutes 15 March 2010

Last Updated:
26 March 2010

Proposed agenda

The meeting started at 11:05UTC.

List of attendees:

Andrei Kolesnikov NCA – Non Voting

Contracted Parties House

Registrar Stakeholder Group: Stéphane van Gelder, Adrian Kinderis.

Tim Ruiz - absent - apologies

gTLD Registries Stakeholder Group: Chuck Gomes, Caroline Greer,

Edmon Chung - absent - apologies

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Terry Davis

Non-Contracted Parties House Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG): , Wolf-Ulrich Knoben, Kristina Rosette, Zahid Jamil, David Taylor.

Jaime Wagner, Mike Rodenbaugh - absent - apologies

Non Commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG): Rafik Dammak, Debra Hughes, William Drake, Rosemary Sinclair, Mary Wong

Wendy Seltzer - absent - apologies

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Olga Cavalli

GNSO Council Liaisons/Observers
Alan Greenberg – ALAC Liaison - absent
Han Chuan Lee – ccNSO Observer - absent


Liz Gasster - Senior Policy Counselor, ICANN Policy Support
Margie Milam - Senior Policy Counselor
Marika Konings - Policy Director
Glen de Saint Géry - GNSO Secretariat

Tony Holmes - Internet Service Providers and Connectivity Providers Constituency Chair

Item 1: Administrative Items

1.2 Roll call

Chuck Gomes noted that Tony Holmes, as well as any other Stakeholder Group members standing in for absent councillors are welcome to participate in the call and the polling.

1.3 Update any Statements of Interest

No updates

1 5 Review/amend the agenda

  • No changes

Item 2: Report from the GNSO Evaluation Team

Caroline Greer gave an overview of the Evaluation Team Report.

Item 3: Confirmation of Stakeholder Group (SG) slate of Nominees

The Council confirmed the following slate of nominees:

(See page: for further details)

Brian Cute, US - RySG

Warren Adelman, US - RrSG

Olivier Muron, FR - CSG

Willie Currie, SA - NCSG

Item 4: Unaffiliated Slot

Two candidates are eligible:

(See page: for further details)

Elaine Pruis, US

S. S. Kshatriya, India

Polling results:

Elaine Pruis was endorsed by the GNSO Council.

Contracted parties House - Full support for Elaine Pruis

Non ontracted parties House - Seven (7) out of Thirteen (13) supported Elaine Pruis

Item 5: Open Slot

Hakikur Rahman from Bangladesh is eligible:

(See page: for further details)

Polling results:

Hakikur Rahman was endorsed by the GNSO Council.

Contracted parties House - Full support for Hakikur Rahman

Non ontracted parties House - Seven (7) out of Thirteen (13) supported Hakikur Rahman

Item 6: Action Items

Chuck Gomes, GNSO Council chair committed to transmit to Peter Dengate Thrush ICANN Board chair, and Janis Karklins GAC chair, the following list of candidates that the GNSO endorsed for the Affirmation of Commitments 2010 Accountability and Transparency Review Team.

Each of the four GNSO Stakeholder Groups endorsed one candidate each. In addition one candidate unaffiliated with any Stakeholder Group was endorsed and one candidate for an open slot was endorsed.

1. Brian Cute, US - Registries Stakeholder Group (RySG)
2. Warren Adelman, US - Registrars Stakeholder Group (RrSG)
3. Olivier Muron, FR - Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG)
4. Willie Currie, South Africa - Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG)
5. Elaine Pruis, US - Unaffiliated
6. Hakikur Rahman, Bangladesh - Open Slot

Chuck Gomes adjourned the GNSO Council Special meeting and thanked everyone for their participation.
The meeting was adjourned at 11:50 UTC.

Next GNSO Council meeting will be on Thursday, 1 April 2010 at 20:00 UTC.
See: Calendar