Reserved Names Working Group (RN-WG)

Last Updated: 28 August 2009
Date: 
12 March 2007

Reserved Names Working Group (RN-WG)

Agenda – Monday, 12 March 2007

  1. Notes:
    1. Meeting is being recorded and transcribed
    2. Please identify yourself when you speak so that the transcribers know to whom they should attribute comments.\
    3. Listening through the speaker phone is fine, but when you speak please use the handset.
  2. Review and approve agenda
  3. Review of and action on subgroup reports re. ‘straw’ recommendations (Members with names in bold font have the lead for this meeting.)
    1. Guidelines for brief reports
      1. Highlight only new info re. background, role, expert consultations & info. resources
      2. Summarize straw recommendations.
    2. NIC/Whois/www for Registry Operations – Tim Denton
      1. Brief highlights of any changes to background, role, expert consultations & info. resources
      2. Straw recommendations
        1. Brief but detailed summary
        2. Discussion
          1. Questions?
          2. Suggested changes?
        3. Any objections to including this report as is?
        4. Any minority statements? (Due by Noon EDT Wednesday, 14 March)
    3. ICANN and IANA related names – Tim Denton, Mawaki Chango
      1. Brief highlights of any changes to background, role, expert consultations & info. resources
      2. Straw recommendations
        1. Brief but detailed summary
        2. Discussion
          1. Questions?
          2. Suggested changes?
        3. Any objections to including this report as is?
        4. Any minority statements? (Due by Noon EDT Wednesday, 14 March)
    4. Other names reserved at the second-level (gTLD Registry specific names, other) – Caroline Greer, Tamara Reznik, Mike Rodenbaugh
      1. Brief highlights of any changes to background, role, expert consultations & info. resources
      2. Straw recommendations
        1. Brief but detailed summary
        2. Discussion
          1. Questions?
          2. Suggested changes?
        3. Any objections to including this report as is?
        4. Any minority statements? (Due by Noon EDT Wednesday, 14 March)
    5. Controversial names – Tim Ruiz, Marilyn Cade, Avri Doria
      1. Brief highlights of any changes to background, role, expert consultations & info. resources
      2. Straw recommendations
        1. Brief but detailed summary
        2. Discussion
          1. Questions?
          2. Suggested changes?
        3. Any objections to including this report as is?
        4. Any minority statements? (Due by Noon EDT Wednesday, 14 March)
    6. Geographic and geopolitical names – Mike Palage, Avri Doria, Jon Nevett
      1. Brief highlights of any changes to background, role, expert consultations & info. resources
      2. Straw recommendations
        1. Brief but detailed summary
        2. Discussion
          1. Questions?
          2. Suggested changes?
        3. Any objections to including this report as is?
        4. Any minority statements? (Due by Noon EDT Wednesday, 14 March)
    7. Names reserved at the third level – Greg Shatan, Dan Dougherty
      1. Brief highlights of any changes to background, role, expert consultations & info. resources
      2. Straw recommendations
        1. Brief but detailed summary
        2. Discussion
          1. Questions?
          2. Suggested changes?
        3. Any objections to including this report as is?
        4. Any minority statements? (Due by Noon EDT Wednesday, 14 March)
    8. Single and two-character labels - Mike Rodenbaugh, Neal Blair, Alistair Dixon, Marilyn Cade, Patrick Jones
      1. Brief highlights of any changes to background, role, expert consultations & info. resources
      2. Straw recommendations
        1. Brief but detailed summary
        2. Discussion
          1. Questions?
          2. Suggested changes?
        3. Any objections to including this report as is?
        4. Any minority statements? (Due by Noon EDT Wednesday, 14 March)
  4. Timeline
    1. Remaining meeting: Thursday, 15 March
    2. Deadline for approval of final report: 15 March
    3. Report due date to the GNSO Council and Dec05 PDP committee: 16 March
  5. Discussion of Draft WG Final Report
  6. Action items for next call on 15 March
    1. Chuck: prepare draft final report and distribute NLT COB Tuesday, 14 March
    2. Tim Denton:
      1. Using the MS Word tracking function, review and edit all WG-approved reports to ensure common format and editorial quality
      2. Send edited versions of each report to the RN-WG list as soon as possible, ensuring that all have been sent not later than Noon EDT Wednesday, 14 March
    3. For each of the categories for which reports were not approved by the WG:
      1. Complete any remaining actions including using the Word tracking function to highlight latest changes
      2. Send edited reports to the list not later than Noon EDT Wednesday, 14 March
      3. Be prepared to do the following at the 15 March meeting:
        1. Briefly summarize latest updates to the report
        2. Be prepared to discuss final recommendations
  7. RN-WG meeting in Lisbon?
  8. Any Other Business
  9. Next meeting:
    • Thursday, 15 March
    • Brussels Thu 5:00 PM CET
    • Buenos Aires Thu 1:00 PM ART
    • Cedar Rapids Thu 11:00 Noon CDT
    • Dublin Thu 4:00 PM GMT
    • Hong Kong Thu/Fri Midnight HKT
    • London Thu 4:00 PM GMT
    • Los Angeles Thu 9:00 AM PDT
    • New York Thu 12:00 PM EDT
    • Sacramento Thu 9:00 AM PDT
    • San Francisco Thu 9:00 AM PDT
    • Seoul Fri 1:00 AM KST
    • Taipei Thu/Fri Midnight HKT
    • Toronto Thu 12:00 PM EDT
    • Virginia/D.C. Thu 12:00 PM EDT
    • Wellington Fri 5:00 AM NZDT

(Teleconference details to be provided by Glen.)