Reserved Names Working Group (RN-WG)

Last Updated: 28 August 2009
Date: 
07 March 2007

Reserved Names Working Group (RN-WG)

Draft Agenda – Wednesday, 7 March 2007

  1. Notes:
    1. Meeting is being recorded and transcribed
    2. Please identify yourself when you speak so that the transcribers know to whom they should attribute comments
    3. Listening through the speaker phone is fine, but when you speak please use the handset.
  2. Review and approve agenda
  3. Review of and action on reports from WG subgroups re. the role of reserved names (Members with names in bold font have the lead.)
    1. Guidelines for brief reports
      1. Highlight only new info re. background & info. Resources
      2. Focus primarily on role & expert consultation sections
      3. Discuss role with the intent of reaching WG consensus
      4. Discuss straw recommendations only if your sub-group has reached rough consensus.
    2. Other categories of reserved names
      1. ICANN and IANA related names – Tim Denton, Mawaki Chango
        1. Summary of updates to the report
        2. Consultation with Experts
        3. Role
        4. ‘Straw’ recommendations
        5. ‘Straw’ recommendations
      2. Single and two-character labels - Mike Rodenbaugh, Neal Blair, Alistair Dixon, Marilyn Cade, Patrick Jones
        1. Summary of updates to the report
        2. Consultation with Experts
        3. Role
        4. ‘Straw’ recommendations
      3. Controversial names – Tim Ruiz, Marilyn Cade, Avri Doria
        1. Summary of updates to the report
        2. Consultation with Experts
        3. Role
        4. ‘Straw’ recommendations
      4. Geographic and geopolitical names – Mike Palage, Avri Doria, Jon Nevett
        1. Summary of updates to the report
        2. Consultation with Experts
        3. Role
        4. ‘Straw’ recommendations
  4. Timeline
    1. Remaining meetings
      1. Thursday, 8 March
      2. Thursday, 15 March
    2. Deadline for approval of final report: 15 March
    3. Report due date to the GNSO Council and Dec05 PDP committee: 16 March
  5. Action items for next call on 8 March
    1. Review the final report template to be distributed by Chuck
    2. For each of the RN reserved name reports:
      1. Complete a near-final draft report including
        1. Near final description of consultation with experts
        2. Final definition of role
        3. Final‘Straw’ recommendations from the subgroup for the full WG.
          1. Attempt to reach rough consensus within the subgroup on the ‘straw’ recommendations
          2. If there is not rough consensus, state alternative recommendations.
          3. In Section 3 of each report, provide recommendation summary in the table format distributed by Chuck on 5 March followed with any appropriate narrative text below the table.
          4. In cases where additional work is recommended, include suggested guidelines for additional work as applicable; this should be inserted after the recommendations summary table along with any other text provided there.
      2. Send revised report to the list and to Glen for posting at least one hour before the 8 March meeting (earlier if possible)
      3. Be prepared to do the following at the 8 March meeting:
        1. Briefly (< 3 minutes) summarize updates to the report
        2. Present ‘straw’ recommendations for discussion and consideration of the full WG
        3. Outline steps to finalize report
  6. Any Other Business
  7. Next meeting: Thursday, 8 March
    1. Times:
      • Brussels Thu 7:00 PM CET
      • Buenos Aires Thu 3:00 PM ART
      • Cedar Rapidsw Thu 12:00 Noon CST
      • Dublin Thu 6:00 PM GMT
      • Hong Kong Fri 2:00 AM HKT
      • London Thu 6:00 PM GMT
      • Los Angeles Thu 10:00 AM PST
      • New York Thu 1:00 PM EST
      • Sacramento Thu 10:00 AM PST
      • San Francisco Thu 10:00 AM PST
      • Seoul Fri 3:00 AM KST
      • Taipei Fri 2:00 AM CST
      • Toronto Thu 1:00 PM EST
      • Virginia/D.C. Thu 1:00 PM EST
      • Wellington Fri 7:00 AM NZDT
    2. Teleconference details to be provided by Glen.