Agenda for GNSO Council Meeting 28 April 2011

Last Updated: 27 April 2011
Date: 
21 April 2011

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Council Operating Procedures approved 7 April 2011 for the GNSO Council.
http://gnso.icann.org/council/gnso-op-procedures-08apr11-en.pdf

For convenience:

  • An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.
  • An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.

Meeting Time 11:00 UTC

Coordinated Universal Time:11:00 UTC - see below for local times
(04:00 Los Angeles, 07:00 Washington DC,12:00 London, 13:00 Brussels, 19:00 Beijing; 21:00 Melbourne

Dial-in numbers will be sent individually to Council members. Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if a dial out call is needed.

GNSO Council meeting audiocast

http://stream.icann.org:8000/gnso.m3u

Item 1: Administrative matters (10 minutes)

1.1 Update any statements of interest

1.2 Review/amend agenda

1.3. Note the status of minutes for the previous Council meeting per the GNSO Operating Procedures:

Item 2: WHOIS studies (15 minutes)

Refer to motion 1, deferred from previous meeting at IPC's request.
https://community.icann.org/display/gnsocouncilmeetings/Motions+7+April+2011

Refer to Motion 1

https://community.icann.org/display/gnsocouncilmeetings/Motions+28+April+2011

2.1 Discussion

2.2 Vote

2.3 Suggestions on next steps for Whois Requirements (Avri Doria)

Item 3: Pending Projects – Policy Process Steering Committee (PPSC) (15 minutes)

Standard agenda item to update the Council on the GNSO's Pending Projects.
Refer to motion 2
https://community.icann.org/display/gnsocouncilmeetings/Motions+28+April+2011

3. 1 Update on Pending Project: PPSC (Jeff Neuman)
3. 2 Discussion
3. 3 Vote

Item 4: Motion on OSC Global Outreach Recommendations (10 minutes)

Refer to motion approved by the Council at the 24 February 2011 GNSO Council meeting: https://community.icann.org/display/gnsocouncilmeetings/Motions+24+February+2011.

Specifically the following clauses:

RESOLVED, that the GNSO Council acknowledges receipt of the document submitted by the OSC
http://www.icann.org/topics/gnso-improvements/gnso-improvements-report-03feb08.pdf
and directs Staff to post this document for forty-five (45) days in the ICANN Public Comment Forum.

RESOLVED FURTHER, that the GNSO Council shall take formal action on this document, including potential modification, as soon as possible after the conclusion of the public comment period.

Refer to motion 3

https://community.icann.org/display/gnsocouncilmeetings/Motions+28+April+2011

4.1 Discussion

4. 2 Vote

Item 5: Meeting with ICANN's new Compliance Director (10 minutes)

The Council invites, Maguy Serad, ICANN’s senior compliance director to provide both an overview of her Compliance philosophy and her 30-60-90 day plan for the department.

5.1 Presentation from Compliance Director (Maguy Serad)
http://gnso.icann.org/correspondence/presentation-gnso-update-contractual-compliance-28apr11-en.pdf

5.2 Discussion and questions

Item 6: Cartagena Board Resolution on Consumer Choice, Competition and Innovation (10 minutes)

Refer to Board resolution:
http://www.icann.org/en/minutes/resolutions-10dec10-en.htm#6
Rosemary Sinclair has volunteered to lead.

6.1 Update from Rosemary Sinclair.

6. 2 Discussion

6. 3 Next steps?

Item 7: Joint SO/AC WG on New gTLD Applicant Support (JAS) (15 minutes)

7.1 Update from co-Chairs (Rafik Dammak and Carlton Samuels).

7. 2 Discussion

7. 3 Next steps?

Item 8: UDRP Issues Paper (10 minutes)

8.1 Update from Staff (Margie Milam)

8.2 Discussion

8.3 Next steps

Item 9: Joint ccNSO-GNSO IDN Working Group Final Report on Single Character IDN TLDs (JIG) (10 minutes)

Refer to motion approved by the GNSO Council at the April 7, 2011 meeting

https://community.icann.org/display/gnsocouncilmeetings/Motions+7+April+2011

The ccNSO Council has since asked that the GNSO Council not forward the report to the Board until it has had an opportunity to address a few issues it has with the report.

In the meantime, it is suggested that the GNSO Council submit, as part of the DAGv6 Public Comment period, its comments on those parts of the JIG report that pertain to new gTLDs.

9.1 Discussion

9.2 Next steps

Item 10. Any Other Business (5 minutes)

10.1 Possible topics for Singapore weekend GNSO sessions

Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article X, Section 3)

9. Except as otherwise specified in these Bylaws, Annex A hereto, or the GNSO Operating Procedures, the default threshold to pass a GNSO Council motion or other voting action requires a simple majority vote of each House. The voting thresholds described below shall apply to the following GNSO actions:
1. Create an Issues Report: requires an affirmative vote of more than 25% vote of each House or majority of one House;
2. Initiate a Policy Development Process (“PDP”) Within Scope (as described in Annex A): requires an affirmative vote of more than 33% of each House or more than 66% of one House;
3. Initiate a PDP Not Within Scope: requires an affirmative vote of more than 75% of one House and a majority of the other House (“GNSO Supermajority”);
4. Approve a PDP Recommendation Without a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a majority of each House and further requires that one GNSO Council member representative of at least 3 of the 4 Stakeholder Groups supports the Recommendation;
5. Approve a PDP Recommendation With a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a GNSO Supermajority; and
6. Approve a PDP Recommendation Imposing New Obligations on Certain Contracting Parties: where an ICANN contract provision specifies that “a two-thirds vote of the council” demonstrates the presence of a consensus, the GNSO Supermajority vote threshold will have to be met or exceeded with respect to any contracting party affected by such contract provision.

Appendix 2: Absentee Voting Procedures (GNSO Operating Procedures 4.4)

4.4.1 Applicability
Absentee voting is permitted for the following limited number of Council motions or measures.
a. Initiate a Policy Development Process (PDP);
b. Approve a PDP recommendation;
c. Recommend amendments to the GNSO Operating Procedures (GOP) or ICANN Bylaws;
d. Fill a Council position open for election.

4.4.2 Absentee ballots, when permitted, must be submitted within the announced time limit, which shall be 72 hours from the meeting‟s adjournment. In exceptional circumstances,announced at the time of the vote, the Chair may reduce this time to 24 hours or extend the time to 7 calendar days, provided such amendment is verbally confirmed by all Vice-Chairs present.

4.4.3 The GNSO Secretariat will administer, record, and tabulate absentee votes according to these procedures and will provide reasonable means for transmitting and authenticating absentee ballots, which could include voting by telephone, e- mail, web-based interface, or other technologies as may become available.
4.4.4 Absentee balloting does not affect quorum requirements. (There must be a quorum for the meeting in which the vote is initiated.)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Local time between March & October, Summer in the NORTHERN hemisphere
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reference (Coordinated Universal Time) UTC 11:00
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
California, USA (PDT) UTC-7+1DST 04:00
Cedar Rapids, USA (CDT) UTC-5+1DST 06:00
New York/Washington DC, USA (EDT) UTC-5+1DST 07:00
Buenos Aires, Argentina UTC-3+0DST 08:00
Rio de Janeiro/Sao Paulo Brazil UTC-3+0DST 08:00
London, United Kingdom (BST) UTC+1DST 12:00
Tunis, Tunisia (CET)UTC+1+0DST 12:00
Darmstadt, Germany (CET) UTC+1+1DST 13:00
Paris, France (CET) UTC+1+1DST 13:00
Moscow, Russian Federation UTC+3+1DST 15:00
Karachi, Pakistan UTC+5+0DST 16:00
Beijing, China UTC+8+0DST 19:00
Tokyo, Japan UTC+9+0DST 20:00
Melbourne,/Sydney Australia (EST) UTC+10+0DST 21:00
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
The DST starts/ends on last Sunday of October 2011, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
For other places see http://www.timeanddate.com