Agenda for GNSO Council Public Meeting in Dakar 26 October 2011

Last Updated: 26 October 2011
Date: 
16 October 2011

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Council Operating Procedures approved 22 September 2011 for the GNSO Council.
http://gnso.icann.org/council/gnso-operating-procedures-22sep11-en.pdf

For convenience:

  • An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.
  • An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.

Meeting Time 14:00 UTC

Coordinated Universal Time: 14:00 UTC - see below for local times
(07:00 Los Angeles, 10:00 Washington DC, 14:00 Dakar, 15:00 London, 16:00 Brussels, 23:00 Tokyo)

Thursday  27 October
01:00 Melbourne

Dial-in numbers will be sent individually to Council members who will be absent. Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if a dial out call is needed.

Refer to:
http://dakar42.icann.org/node/26967

14:00- 15:00 GNSO Council Public Forum.

Presentations by Stakeholder and Constituency Group Leaders.

  • Registries Stakeholder Group - David Maher
  • Registrars Stakeholder Group - Mason Cole
  • Non Commercial Users Constituency (NCUC) – Konstantinos Komaitis
  • Not-for-Profit Operational Concerns Constituency (NPOC).
    • – Debbie Hughes
  • Commercial and Business Users Constituency (BC) – Marilyn Cade
  • Intellectual Property Constituency (IPC) – Paul McGrady
  • Internet Service Providers and Connectivity Providers  (ISPCP) – Tony Holmes

Break

15:20

Item 1: Administrative matters (10 minutes)

1.1 Roll Call

1.2 Updated statements of interest

  • Kristina Rosette
  • Rafik Dammak

1.3 Review/amend agenda

1.4. Note the status of minutes for the previous Council meeting per the GNSO Operating Procedures:

Item 2: GNSO Pending Projects List (10 minutes)

- Standard agenda item looking at changes made to the GNSO's Pending Projects list since the previous meeting.

- Refer to Pending Projects list
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/pending-projects-list.pdf

2.1 Changes to Pending Projects List since last Council meeting (Stéphane Van Gelder)

  • GNSO activities: 6(10 – PEDNR, PDP-WT, OSC, GCOT, CSG removed; IRTP- C added)
  • Other activities: 10 (9 –Thick Whois added)
  • Joint SO/AC WGs: 7 (7 –RAA Removed; RC-IOC added).
  • Outstanding recommendations: 2 (2– no change).

2.2 Open microphone

Item 3: Open Council Meeting Drafting Team (15 minutes)

Following the Singapore meeting, a GNSO Drafting Team (DT) was formed to work on possible enhancements to the format of the GNSO Council's Open Meetings. Today's meeting is the first since the formation of this DT.

As an introduction to the meeting, the DT would like to present some of its suggested enhancements and receive feedback on them.

3.1 Update from DT (Adrian Kinderis)
3.2 Discussion
3.3 Next steps
3.4 Open microphone

Item 4: Amendments to RAA (15 minutes)

In its ongoing work on the Registrar Accreditation Agreement (RAA), and more specifically to identify potential amendments to the RAA, the Council is considering a motion to approve an amended process to develop a new form of RAA termed "Process B".

Refer to motion 1
https://community.icann.org/display/gnsocouncilmeetings/Motions+26+Octob...

This motion was deferred from the October 6, 2011 meeting.

4.1 Reading of the motion (Kristina Rosette)
4.2 Discussion
4.3 Vote
4.4 Open microphone

Item 5: Policy Development Process Work Team (PDP-WT) (15 minutes)

- As part of the GNSO improvements, the PPSC's PDP WT has produced a final report on how the GNSO's policy development process should be handled.

- Refer to PDP-WT Final Report. The Report has been put out for public comment and is now being presented to the Council for approval.

Refer to motion 2
https://community.icann.org/display/gnsocouncilmeetings/Motions+26+Octob...

This motion was deferred from the October 6, 2011 meeting.

5.1 Reading of the motion (Jeff Neuman)
5.2 Discussion
5.3 Vote
5.4 Open microphone

Item 6: Outreach Task Force Charter (15 minutes)

Refer to motion 3
https://community.icann.org/display/gnsocouncilmeetings/Motions+26+October+2011

6.1 Reading of the Motion (Olga Cavalli)
6.2 Discussion
6.3 Vote
6.4 Open microphone

Item 7: Cross Community WG Drafting Team (15 minutes)

- In order to identify exactly how the GNSO should interact with, or participate in, cross community efforts, a drafting team has been formed and is examining how to best conduct these joint activities.

- The GNSO Council approved the team's charter on October 6. Today, the team is delivering its first status report.

Link to report
http://dakar42.icann.org/meetings/dakar2011/presentation-ccwg-update-26o...

7.1 Update from DT (Jonathan Robinson)
7.2 Discussion
7.3 Next steps
7.4 Open microphone

Item 8: Geo regions WG (15 minutes)

- The Geo Regions WG is currently drafting its final report and plans to produce it early next year. The GNSO Council will be able to consider the report at that time. A draft document is currently the subject of a public comment forum: http://www.icann.org/en/public-comment/geo-regions-draft-final-report-30sep11-en.htm.

- This is a discussion item to update the Council on this work, and also to determine if the current Council representatives to the WG are able to continue in this role. The current reps are Olga Cavalli and Zahid Jamil. Olga will no longer sit on the Council following this Dakar meeting.

8.1 Update from Staff (Rob Hoggarth)
8.2 Discussion
8.3 Rep choices
8.4 Open microphone

Item 9: ASO update (15 minutes)

- This will be an update from the ASO to the GNSO Council on current ASO activities and an opportunity for discussion and questions from both SOs on each others' current activities.

9.1 Update from ASO  (Louis Lee)
9.2 Discussion
9.3 Open microphone

Item 10: Discussion of Final Issue Report on a Possible PDP on the Uniform Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) (15 minutes)

- The GNSO Council discussed the final Issue Report on the UDRP
http://gnso.icann.org/issues/udrp/udrp-final-issue-report-03oct11-en.pdf
during its weekend working sessions. This is a discussion item about possible next steps in relation to a possible PDP on the UDRP.

10.1 Update from Staff (Margie Milam)
10.2 Discussion
10.3 Next steps
10.4 Open microphone

Item 11: Thanks to outgoing Councilors

Item 12. Any Other Business (5 minutes)

BREAK

18:00  - 18:30 New Council convenes

Item 1. Seating of the New Council

1.1 Roll call 
1.2 Statements of interest

Item 2 Vote for GNSO Council chair

One nomination was received for this position, Stéphane van Gelder. The GNSO Council held a question & answer session over the weekend with Mr. van Gelder.

Vote by show of hands

Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article X, Section 3)

9. Except as otherwise specified in these Bylaws, Annex A hereto, or the GNSO Operating Procedures, the default threshold to pass a GNSO Council motion or other voting action requires a simple majority vote of each House. The voting thresholds described below shall apply to the following GNSO actions:

  1. Create an Issues Report: requires an affirmative vote of more than 25% vote of each House or majority of one House;
  2. Initiate a Policy Development Process (“PDP”) Within Scope (as described in Annex A): requires an affirmative vote of more than 33% of each House or more than 66% of one House;
  3. Initiate a PDP Not Within Scope: requires an affirmative vote of more than 75% of one House and a majority of the other House (“GNSO Supermajority”);
  4. Approve a PDP Recommendation Without a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a majority of each House and further requires that one GNSO Council member representative of at least 3 of the 4 Stakeholder Groups supports the Recommendation;
  5. Approve a PDP Recommendation With a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a GNSO Supermajority; and
  6. Approve a PDP Recommendation Imposing New Obligations on Certain Contracting Parties: where an ICANN contract provision specifies that “a two-thirds vote of the council” demonstrates the presence of a consensus, the GNSO Supermajority vote threshold will have to be met or exceeded with respect to any contracting party affected by such contract provision.

Appendix 2: Absentee Voting Procedures (GNSO Operating Procedures 4.4)

4.4.1 Applicability Absentee voting is permitted for the following limited number of Council motions or measures.

  • Initiate a Policy Development Process (PDP);
  • Approve a PDP recommendation;
  • Recommend amendments to the GNSO Operating Procedures (GOP) or ICANN Bylaws;
  • Fill a Council position open for election.

4.4.2 Absentee ballots, when permitted, must be submitted within the announced time limit, which shall be 72 hours from the meeting‟s adjournment. In exceptional circumstances,announced at the time of the vote, the Chair may reduce this time to 24 hours or extend the time to 7 calendar days, provided such amendment is verbally confirmed by all Vice-Chairs present.

4.4.3 The GNSO Secretariat will administer, record, and tabulate absentee votes according to these procedures and will provide reasonable means for transmitting and authenticating absentee ballots, which could include voting by telephone, e- mail, web-based interface, or other technologies as may become available.

4.4.4 Absentee balloting does not affect quorum requirements. (There must be a quorum for the meeting in which the vote is initiated.)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Local time between March & October, Summer in the NORTHERN hemisphere
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reference (Coordinated Universal Time) UTC 14:00
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
California, USA (PDT) UTC-8+1DST 07:00
Cedar Rapids, USA (CDT) UTC-6+1DST 09:00
New York/Washington DC, USA (EDT) UTC-5+1DST 10:00
Buenos Aires, Argentina UTC-3+0DST 11:00
Rio de Janeiro/Sao Paulo Brazil UTC-3+0DST 12:00
Dakar, Senegal UTC 14:00
London, United Kingdom (BST) UTC+1DST 15:00
Tunis, Tunisia (CET)UTC+1+0DST 16:00
Darmstadt, Germany (CET) UTC+1+1DST 16:00
Paris, France (CET) UTC+1+1DST 16:00
Moscow, Russian Federation UTC+3+1DST 18:00
Karachi, Pakistan UTC+5+0DST 19:00
Beijing, China UTC+8+0DST 22:00
Tokyo, Japan UTC+9+0DST 23:00
Melbourne,/Sydney Australia (EST) UTC+10+0DST 01:00 next day
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
The DST starts/ends on last Sunday of October 2011, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
For other places see http://www.timeanddate.com