Agenda for GNSO Council Meeting 20 May 2010

Last Updated: 19 May 2010
Date: 
20 May 2010

Agenda for GNSO Council Meeting 20 May 2010.

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Council Operating Procedures approved 28 October 2009 for the GNSO Council.
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/operating-procedures-revised-draft-clean-09oct09-en.pdf

For convenience:

  • An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.
  • An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.

Meeting Time 15:00 UTC

See the following and http://www.timeanddate.com/ for other times:

08:00 PDT; 10:00 CDT; 11:00 EDT; 12:00 Argentina/Brazil; 16:00 Ireland; 17:00 CEST; 19:00 Moscow; 20:00 Pakistan; 23:00 Hong Kong; 00:00 Tokyo, 01:00 Friday Melbourne

Dial-in numbers will be sent individually to Council members. Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if a dial out call is needed.

Please click on the link to join the GNSO Council Adobe Connect room
http://icann.na3.acrobat.com/gnsocouncil/
Please enter as a 'guest'.

Item 1: Administrative matters (10 minutes)

1.1 Roll call of Council members

1.2 Update any statements of interest

1.3 Review/amend agenda

1.4. Note the status of minutes for the previous Council meeting per the GNSO Operating Procedures:

Item 2: Prioritization GNSO work (15 Minutes)

2.1 Refer to TIMELINE FOR FIRST WORK PRIORITIZATION EFFORT
http://gnso.icann.org/correspondence/cover-letter-work-prioritization-project-list-30apr10-en.pdf

2.2 Refer to Staff Recommended Projects List

GNSO Work Prioritization Project List
http://gnso.icann.org/drafts/work-prioritization-project-list-30apr10-en.pdf

2.3 Motion:
https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?20_may_motions

2.4 Discussion

2.5 Vote
(Note that absentee voting will not be allowed on this motion.)

Item 3: GNSO AoC DT Endorsement Process (15 minutes)

3.1 Overview of AoC Endorsement Process (Bill Drake)

3.2 GNSO input requested from Janis Karklins:

  • Size and composition of the Review Teams ‘Security Stability and Resilience of the DNS’ and ‘Whois policy’
  • Recommendations from the GNSO AoC Review DT (Bill Drake)
  • Discussion

3.3.2 GNSO Endorsement Procedures

(Note: that absentee voting will not be allowed for this motion.)

3.4.3 Next steps?

Item 4: IDNG DT Recommendation re. New gTLD Process (15 minutes)

4.1 Report (Edmon Chung)

4.2 Motion:
https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?20_may_motions

4.3 Discussion

4.4 Vote

(Note: that absentee voting will not be allowed for this motion.)

Item 5: Joint SO/AC Working Group on New gTLD Applicant Support (10 minutes)

5.1 Overview of Charter (Olof Nordling)

5.2 Discussion

5.3 Motion
https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?20_may_motions

5.3.1 Discussion

5.3.2 Vote

(Note that absentee voting will not be allowed for this motion.)

Item 6: Schedule and Agendas for GNSO Brussels Meetings (15 minutes)

6.1 Note that meeting schedule and agendas must be posted not later than 29 May.

6.2 Overview (Stephane Van Gelder)

6.3 Discussion

6.4 Possible Joint SO/AC meeting re. RAA WG (Monday afternoon?)

Item 7: AGP Policy questions (10 minutes)*

7.1 Discussion of questions raised by Craig Schwartz in the 21 April Council meeting

  • Should the Council consider modifying the AGP Limits Policy to no longer require semi-annual updates?
  • Should the Council consider modifying the AGP Limits Policy by defining the terms “extraordinary circumstances” or “reoccur regularly? For example:
    • Should instances of consumer fraud automatically be a legitimate use of AGP deletes?
    • If a registrar proactively takes down (i.e., deletes) domains that are known to propagate a fraudulent activity such as phishing, should the registrar bear the cost if the deletions cause the registrar to exceed the threshold defined in the Policy?

7.2 Next steps?

Item 8: Whois Studies (15 minutes) *

8.1 Refer to:

8.2 Note the amount in the Draft Budget for Whois Studies: $ 400,000

8.3 Draft Terms of Reference for WHOIS Proxy/Privacy Services "abuse" study

8.3.1 Refer to:
http://gnso.icann.org/drafts/whois-proxy-abuse-studies-28apr10-en.pdf

8.3.2 Brief overview (Liz Gasster)

8.3.3 Discussion

8.4 Discussion of how to proceed in selecting studies

8.5 Next steps?

8.6 Comments regarding the Draft Operating Plan & Budget from constituencies, SGs & individual GNSO participants are encouraged.

Item 9: Other Business (5 minutes)

9.1 Note: It is planned to consider GNSO Improvements OSC recommendations from the CCT and the GCOT in our next meeting on 10 June.

Item 10: Status updates (5 minutes)

10.1 Refer to WG/WT/DT status updates:
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/notes-council-20may10-en.htm

10.2 Questions/comments on written status updates sent in advance by leaders of Working Groups, Work Teams, staff projects, etc.?
Status updates:

Item 11: The updated GNSO Project Status List (5 minutes)

11.1 Refer to Pending Projects List:
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/pending-projects-list.pdf

11.1 Questions/comments?

**Note: Agenda items 6 (Whois Studies) & 7 (AGP Policy questions) may need to be delayed in whole or in part if earlier items require more time than what is allotted. Items 2 (Prioritization of GNSO work), 3 (GNSO AoC DT Endorsement Process), 4 (IDNG DT Recommendation re. New gTLD Process) & 5 (Schedule and Agendas for GNSO Brussels Meetings) all require action in this meeting and as such could take more time than what is allocated.*

Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article X, Section 3)

9. Except as otherwise specified in these Bylaws, Annex A hereto, or the GNSO Operating Procedures, the default threshold to pass a GNSO Council motion or other voting action requires a simple majority vote of each House. The voting thresholds described below shall apply to the following GNSO actions:

  1. Create an Issues Report: requires an affirmative vote of more than 25% vote of each House or majority of one House;
  2. Initiate a Policy Development Process (“PDP”) Within Scope (as described in Annex A): requires an affirmative vote of more than 33% of each House or more than 66% of one House;
  3. Initiate a PDP Not Within Scope: requires an affirmative vote of more than 75% of one House and a majority of the other House (“GNSO Supermajority”);
  4. Approve a PDP Recommendation Without a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a majority of each House and further requires that one GNSO Council member representative of at least 3 of the 4 Stakeholder Groups supports the Recommendation;
  5. Approve a PDP Recommendation With a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a GNSO Supermajority; and
  6. Approve a PDP Recommendation Imposing New Obligations on Certain Contracting Parties: where an ICANN contract provision specifies that “a two-thirds vote of the council” demonstrates the presence of a consensus, the GNSO Supermajority vote threshold will have to be met or exceeded with respect to any contracting party affected by such contract provision.

Appendix 2: Absentee Voting Procedures (Council Operating Procedures 4.4)

Members that are absent from a meeting at the time of a vote on the following items may vote by absentee ballot:

  1. Initiate a policy development process;
  2. Forward a policy recommendation to the Board;
  3. Recommend amendments to the ICANN Bylaws;
  4. Fill a position open for election.

The GNSO Secretariat will provide reasonable means for transmitting and authenticating absentee ballots, which could include voting by telephone, e- mail, or web-based interface. Absentee ballots must be submitted within 72 hours following the start of the meeting in which a vote is initiated, except that, in exceptional circumstances announced at the time of the vote, the Chair may reduce this time to 24 hours or extend the time to 7 days. There must be a quorum for the meeting in which the vote is initiated.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Local time between March and October, Summer in the NORTHERN hemisphere
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reference (Coordinated Universal Time) 15:00UTC
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
California, USA (PST) UTC-8+1DST 08:00
Cedar Rapids, USA (CDT) UTC-6+1DST 10:00
New York/Washington DC, USA (EDT) UTC-5+1DST 11:00
Buenos Aires, Argentina UTC-3+0DST 12:00
Rio de Janeiro/Sao Paulo Brazil UTC-3+0DST 12:00
Dublin, Ireland (GMT) UTC+1DST 16:00
Darmstadt, Germany (CET) UTC+1+1DST 17:00
Paris, France (CET) UTC+1+1DST 17:00
Moscow, Russian Federation (MSK) UTC+3+1DST 19:00
Karachi, Pakistan UTC+5+0DST 20:00
Hong Kong, China UTC+8+0DST 23:00
Tokyo, Japan UTC+9+0DST 00:00
Melbourne/Sydney Australia (EDT) UTC+10+0DST 01:00 (Friday)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The DST starts/ends on last Sunday of October 2010, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions)