GNSO Council Teleconference Agenda - 21 April 2010

Last Updated: 20 April 2010
Date: 
21 April 2010

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Council Operating Procedures approved 28 October 2009 for the GNSO Council.
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/operating-procedures-revised-draft-clean-09oct09-en.pdf

For convenience:

  • An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.
  • An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.

Meeting Time 11:00 UTC

See the following and http://www.timeanddate.com/ for other times:

04:00 PDT; 06:00 CDT; 07:00 EDT; 08:00 Buenos Aires; 08:00 Brazil; 13:00 CEST; 15:00 Moscow; 16:00 Pakistan; 19:00 Hong Kong; 20:00 Tokyo, 21:00 Melbourne

Dial-in numbers will be sent individually to Council members. Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if a dial out call is needed.

Please click on the link to join the GNSO Council Adobe Connect room
http://icann.na3.acrobat.com/gnsocouncil/
Please enter as a 'guest'.

Item 1: Administrative matters (10 minutes)

1.1 Roll call of Council members

1.2 Update any statements of interest

1.3 Review/amend agenda

1.4. Note the status of minutes for the previous Council meeting per the GNSO Operating Procedures:

Item 2: GNSO Improvements (20 Minutes)

2.1 OSC Communication & Coordination (CCT) WT Recommendations

2.1.1 Refer to CCT WT Report Part 1:
http://gnso.icann.org/drafts/cct-consolidated-report-final-09apr10-en.pdf

2.1.2 Overview of recommendations (Julie Hedlund)

2.1.3 Discussion

2.1.4 Motion:
https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?21_april_motions

2.1.5 Vote

(Note that absentee voting will not be allowed on these motions.)

Item 3: Prioritization of GNSO work (30 minutes)

3.1 Refer to Recommendations by the Work Prioritization Model Drafting Team (WPM-DT):
http://gnso.icann.org/drafts/wpmg-section-6-and-annex-09apr10-en.pdf

3.2 Overview of Recommendations (Olga Cavalli/Ken Bour)
http://gnso.icann.org/correspondence/presentation-wpm-21apr10-en.pdf

3.3 Discussion

3.4 Next steps?

3.4.1 Motion
https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?21_april_motions

3.4.2 Vote

(Note that absentee voting will not be allowed on this motion.)

Item 4: Whois Studies (25 minutes)

4.1 Refer to:

Presentation Slides from 1 April 2010 Council meeting:
http://gnso.icann.org/correspondence/whois-studies-presentation-01apr10-en.pdf

Follow-up to WHOIS Studies discussion on 1 April 2010 prepared by Liz Gasster, 5 April 2010:
http://gnso.icann.org/issues/whois/whois-follow-up-discussion-05apr10-en.pdf

4.2 Summary of proposals for Whois Study budget requests from the GNSO (Liz Gasster)

4.3 Discussion

4.4 Motion
https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?21_april_motions

4.4.1 Discussion

4.4.2 Vote

Note: 1) a final budget has to be finished by 17 May and there are currently no funds budgeted for Whois Studies;

2) Absentee voting will not be allowed for this motion

Item 5: Joint SO/AC WG to develop a sustainable approach to providing support to applicants requiring assistance in applying for and operating new gTLDs (5 Minutes)

5.1 Status update (Chuck)

  • So far, GAC and ALAC plan to participate
  • Olof Nordling will be the lead New gTLD Implementation Team Staff person supporting this WG

5.2 Request for GNSO participants

Item 6: Other Business (20 minutes)

6.1 GNSO Comments regarding the FY11 Operating Plan and Budget?

6.2 AGP Policy questions (Craig Schwartz)

  • Should the Council consider modifying the AGP Limits Policy to no longer require semi-annual updates?
  • Should the Council consider modifying the AGP Limits Policy by defining the terms “extraordinary circumstances” or “reoccur regularly? For example:
    • Should instances of consumer fraud automatically be a legitimate use of AGP deletes?
    • If a registrar proactively takes down (i.e., deletes) domains that are known to propagate a fraudulent activity such as phishing, should the registrar bear the cost if
      the deletions cause the registrar to exceed the threshold defined in the Policy?

6.2.1 Follow-up actions?

6.3 Mike Rodenbaugh motion regarding the VeriSign .net Registry Services proposal for a Domain Name Exchange service

6.3.1 Refer to the motion at
https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?21_april_motions

6.3.2 Discussion

6.3.3 Vote

(Note that absentee voting will not apply.)

6.4 Reminder : The Council motion passed on 18 February included the following task : ‘the Affirmation of Commitments Review Drafting Team is requested to continue its work to develop a longer-term process for Council consideration in April’.

6.4.1 Status report (Bill Drake)

6.4.2 Action items?

6.5 Should the GNSO Council submit comments regarding ‘Report of Possible Process Options for Further Consideration of the ICM Application for the .XXX sTLD’ ? (Note that comments are due by 10 May.)

6.6 Request for provisional Trusted Community Representatives (TCRs) for the root key generation and signing ceremonies : http://www.icann.org/en/announcements/announcement-12apr10-en.htm

  • Note the very short window for expressions of interest : Friday, 23 April.

6.7 Any other business?

Item 7 Status updates (5 minutes)

7.1 Questions/comments on written status updates sent in advance by leaders of Working Groups, Work Teams, staff projects, etc.?
Status updates:
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/notes-council-21april10-en.htm

Item 8: The updated GNSO Project Status List (5 minutes)

http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/pending-projects-list.pdf

8.1 Questions/comments?

Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article X, Section 3)

9. Except as otherwise specified in these Bylaws, Annex A hereto, or the GNSO Operating Procedures, the default threshold to pass a GNSO Council motion or other voting action requires a simple majority vote of each House. The voting thresholds described below shall apply to the following GNSO actions:

  1. Create an Issues Report: requires an affirmative vote of more than 25% vote of each House or majority of one House;
  2. Initiate a Policy Development Process (“PDP”) Within Scope (as described in Annex A): requires an affirmative vote of more than 33% of each House or more than 66% of one House;
  3. Initiate a PDP Not Within Scope: requires an affirmative vote of more than 75% of one House and a majority of the other House (“GNSO Supermajority”);
  4. Approve a PDP Recommendation Without a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a majority of each House and further requires that one GNSO Council member representative of at least 3 of the 4 Stakeholder Groups supports the Recommendation;
  5. Approve a PDP Recommendation With a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a GNSO Supermajority; and
  6. Approve a PDP Recommendation Imposing New Obligations on Certain Contracting Parties: where an ICANN contract provision specifies that “a two-thirds vote of the council” demonstrates the presence of a consensus, the GNSO Supermajority vote threshold will have to be met or exceeded with respect to any contracting party affected by such contract provision.

Appendix 2: Absentee Voting Procedures (Council Operating Procedures 4.4)

Members that are absent from a meeting at the time of a vote on the following items may vote by absentee ballot:

  1. Initiate a policy development process;
  2. Forward a policy recommendation to the Board;
  3. Recommend amendments to the ICANN Bylaws;
  4. Fill a position open for election.

The GNSO Secretariat will provide reasonable means for transmitting and authenticating absentee ballots, which could include voting by telephone, e-mail, or web-based interface. Absentee ballots must be submitted within 72 hours following the start of the meeting in which a vote is initiated, except that, in exceptional circumstances announced at the time of the vote, the Chair may reduce this time to 24 hours or extend the time to 7 days. There must be a quorum for the meeting in which the vote is initiated.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Local time between March and October, Summer in the NORTHERN hemisphere
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reference (Coordinated Universal Time) 11:00UTC
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
California, USA (PST) UTC-8+1DST 04:00
Cedar Rapids, USA (CDT) UTC-6+1DST 06:00
New York/Washington DC, USA (EDT) UTC-5+1DST 07:00
Buenos Aires, Argentina UTC-3+0DST 08:00
Rio de Janeiro/Sao Paulo Brazil UTC-3+0DST 08:00
Dublin, Ireland (GMT) UTC+1DST 12:00
Darmstadt, Germany (CET) UTC+1+1DST 13:00
Paris, France (CET) UTC+1+1DST 13:00
Moscow, Russian Federation (MSK) UTC+3+1DST 15:00
Karachi, Pakistan UTC+5+0DST 16:00
Hong Kong, China UTC+8+0DST 19:00
Tokyo, Japan UTC+9+0DST 20:00
Melbourne/Sydney Australia (EDT) UTC+10+0DST 21:00
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The DST starts/ends on last Sunday of October 2010, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions)