Agenda for GNSO Council Meeting 1 April 2010

Last Updated: 30 March 2010
Date: 
01 April 2010

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Council Operating Procedures approved 28 October 2009 for the GNSO Council.
http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/operating-procedures-revised-draft-clean-09oct09-en.pdf

For convenience:

* An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.
* An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.

Meeting Time 20:00 UTC

See the following and http://www.timeanddate.com/ for other times:
13:00 PDT; 15:00 CDT; 16:00 EST; 17:00 Buenos Aires; 17:00 Brazil; 22:00 CET; 00:00 Moscow; 01:00 Pakistan; 04:00 Hong Kong; 05:00 Tokyo, 07:00 Melbourne - next day

Dial-in numbers will be sent individually to Council members. Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if a dial out call is needed.

Please click on the link to join the GNSO Council Adobe Connect room
http://icann.na3.acrobat.com/gnsocouncil/
Please enter as a 'guest'.

Item 1: Administrative matters (10 minutes)

1.1 Roll call of Council members

1.2 Update any statements of interest

1.3 Review/amend agenda

1.4. Note the status of minutes for the following Council meetings per the new Council Operating Procedures:

* 10 March meeting – Pending approval on 3 April 2010

http://gnso.icann.org/mailing-lists/archives/council/msg08658.html

* 15 March Special meeting - Pending approval on 26 March 2010.

http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/minutes-council-15mar10-en.htm

Item 2: Vertical Integration PDP Update (10 minutes)

2.1 Status Report (Stephane van Gelder)

2.1.1 Formation of Working Group

2.1.2 Election of chair/vice chair

2.1.3 Brief progress report

2.1.4 Draft Work Schedule

2.1.5 Objective # 5

Charter:

http://gnso.icann.org/issues/vertical-integration/vi-chartered-objectives-10mar10-en.pdf

2,2 Invitation of participants from the AC's and other SO's (Chuck Gomes/Glen)

Item 3: Whois Studies (40 minutes)

3.1 Refer to:
• Whois Studies Report:
https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?whois_discussion#

http://gnso.icann.org/issues/whois/whois-studies-report-for-gnso-23mar10-en.pdf

• Public comment site for the Framework for ICANN's FY11 Operating Plan and Budget:

http://www.icann.org/en/public-comment/public-comment-201004-en.htm#op-budget-fy2011

(Note that the comment period ends today.)

• Public comment: Draft NORC Report on Whois Accuracy, (comment period ends 15 April 2010)

3.2 Overview of the Report (Liz Gasster)

3.3 Discussion

3.4 Action items

3.4.1 Review and assess cost and feasibility estimates for the studies
3.4.2 Decide whether to pursue any of the studies and, if so, which ones
3.4.3 Provide input into the FY11 budget process

3.5 How should we accomplish the above?

• Should we form a drafting team to develop recommendations for consideration in our next meeting?
• Other ideas?
• Note that a final budget has to be finished by 17 May and there are currently no funds budgeted for Whois Studies.

Item 4: Prioritization of GNSO work (15 minutes)

4.1 Status Report (Olga Cavalli)

4.2 Next steps?

Item 5: Status updates (10 minutes)

5.1 Questions/comments on written status updates sent in advance by leaders of Working Groups, Work Teams, staff projects, etc.?

Status updates:

http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/notes-council-01april10-en.htm

Item 6: Any Other Business (15 minutes)

6.1 GNSO action items from 12 March Board Resolutions

6.1.1 Joint SO/AC WG "to develop a sustainable approach to providing support to applicants requiring assistance in applying for and operating new gTLDs" in response to the ICANN Board Resolution 20 at the Nairobi Meeting

6.1.2 Motion: https://st.icann.org/gnso-council/index.cgi?1_april_motions

6.1.3 Discussion

6.1.4 Vote
(Note: Absentee voting does not apply.)

6.2 Are sufficient funds included in the FY11 budget framework to cover GNSO improvements? (See 7.1.1 and 7.1.2 below for two specific examples of needs.)

6.3 Other?

Item 7: The updated GNSO Project Status List (10 minutes)

http://gnso.icann.org/meetings/pending-projects-list.pdf

7.1 Questions/comments?

7.1.1 Regarding ‘GNSO Improvements OSC – Community Communications Team’, are funds included in the FY11 budget framework for website improvements?

7.1.2 Regarding ‘GNSO Toolkit of Services’, are funds included in the FY11 budget framework?

Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article X, Section 3)

9. Except as otherwise specified in these Bylaws, Annex A hereto, or the GNSO Operating Procedures, the default threshold to pass a GNSO Council motion or other voting action requires a simple majority vote of each House. The voting thresholds described below shall apply to the following GNSO actions:
1. Create an Issues Report: requires an affirmative vote of more than 25% vote of each House or majority of one House;
2. Initiate a Policy Development Process (“PDP”) Within Scope (as described in Annex A): requires an affirmative vote of more than 33% of each House or more than 66% of one House;
3. Initiate a PDP Not Within Scope: requires an affirmative vote of more than 75% of one House and a majority of the other House (“GNSO Supermajority”);
4. Approve a PDP Recommendation Without a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a majority of each House and further requires that one GNSO Council member representative of at least 3 of the 4 Stakeholder Groups supports the Recommendation;
5. Approve a PDP Recommendation With a GNSO Supermajority: requires an affirmative vote of a GNSO Supermajority; and
6. Approve a PDP Recommendation Imposing New Obligations on Certain Contracting Parties: where an ICANN contract provision specifies that “a two-thirds vote of the council” demonstrates the presence of a consensus, the GNSO Supermajority vote threshold will have to be met or exceeded with respect to any contracting party affected by such contract provision.

Appendix 2: Absentee Voting Procedures (Council Operating Procedures 4.4)

Members that are absent from a meeting at the time of a vote on the following items may vote by absentee ballot:
1. Initiate a policy development process;
2. Forward a policy recommendation to the Board;
3. Recommend amendments to the ICANN Bylaws;
4. Fill a position open for election.
The GNSO Secretariat will provide reasonable means for transmitting and authenticating absentee ballots, which could include voting by telephone, e- mail, or web-based interface. Absentee ballots must be submitted within 72 hours following the start of the meeting in which a vote is initiated, except that, in exceptional circumstances announced at the time of the vote, the Chair may reduce this time to 24 hours or extend the time to 7 days. There must be a quorum for the meeting in which the vote is initiated.

________________________________________
Local time between March and October, Summer in the NORTHERN hemisphere
________________________________________
Reference (Coordinated Universal Time) 20:00UTC
________________________________________
California, USA (PST) UTC-8+1DST 13:00
Cedar Rapids, USA (CDT) UTC-6+1DST 15:00
New York/Washington DC, USA (EDT) UTC-5+1DST 16:00
Buenos Aires, Argentina UTC-3+0DST 17:00
Rio de Janeiro/Sao Paulo Brazil UTC-3+0DST 17:00
Dublin, Ireland (GMT) UTC+0DST 21:00
Darmstadt, Germany (CET) UTC+1+1DST 22:00
Paris, France (CET) UTC+1+1DST 22:00
Moscow, Russian Federation (MSK) UTC+3+0DST 00:00 next day
Karachi, Pakistan UTC+5+0DST 01:00 next day
Hong Kong, China UTC+8+0DST 04:00 next day
Tokyo, Japan UTC+9+0DST 05:00 next day
Melbourne,/Sydney Australia (EDT) UTC+10+1DST 07:00 next day
________________________________________
The DST starts/ends on last Sunday of October 2010, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions)
________________________________________
For other places see http://www.timeanddate.com/