ICANN/GNSO GNSO Email List Archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

[ga] ICANN Board Approves VeriSign Settlement Agreements

  • To: ga@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Subject: [ga] ICANN Board Approves VeriSign Settlement Agreements
  • From: Danny Younger <dannyyounger@xxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Wed, 1 Mar 2006 02:25:35 -0800 (PST)
  • Domainkey-signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=yahoo.com; h=Message-ID:Received:Date:From:Subject:To:MIME-Version:Content-Type:Content-Transfer-Encoding; b=rh6w0wEgIvqgoSA35IJ5/6SrjYi0chvgWQawsb7z7nW2GzOTPpOLGEfzCGVYGT0/23V5vmmsVIYoQuYn+e9FHy97A65nm2tsrxO6oHmTYX2ARii4AbWlCBlQbrQqxwYL/BgUmX0PVxhFkGgGkYlc4PDXwSxjrPOIr0z796Wl9BI= ;
  • Sender: owner-ga@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Marina del Rey, California, 28 February 2006: Today,
ICANN's Board of Directors approved, by a majority
vote, a set of agreements settling a long time dispute
between ICANN and VeriSign, the registry operator for
the .COM registry. 

These settlement documents include a new registry
agreement relating to the operation of the .COM
registry. The new .COM registry agreement will now
proceed to the U.S. Department of Commerce for final
approval, and the entire settlement is dependent upon
this approval before it is finalized. USDOC approval
is required due to the unique history of the .COM
generic top-level domain and it is the only gTLD which
requires such approval. If approved, this settlement
will clear the way for a new and productive
relationship between ICANN and VeriSign facilitating
ICANN's stewardship and technical coordination of the
Internet's domain name system. 

ICANN's Board voted 9 to 5 in favor of the settlement
agreements with one director abstaining. Affirmative
votes were cast by the following Board Members: Vint
Cerf (Chairman), Alejandro Pisanty (Vice-Chairman),
Mouhamet Diop, Demi Getschko, Hagen Hultzsch, Veni
Markovski, Vanda Scartezini, Paul Twomey (President
and CEO), and Hualin Qian. Directors who voted against
the approval of the settlement documents were:
Raimundo Beca, Susan Crawford, Joichi Ito, Njeri
Rionge, and Peter Dengate Thrush. Director Michael
Palage abstained. Statements by Board members on their
votes will be posted on the ICANN website within the
next two days. 

Do You Yahoo!?
Tired of spam?  Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around 

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>