ICANN/GNSO GNSO Email List Archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

[council] Election for ICANN Board seat number 13

  • To: <council@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Subject: [council] Election for ICANN Board seat number 13
  • From: "Bruce Tonkin" <Bruce.Tonkin@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Wed, 4 Feb 2004 18:26:56 +1100
  • Cc: <apisan@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Michael D. Palage" <michael@xxxxxxxxxx>
  • Sender: owner-council@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Thread-index: AcPq8EWf4o0I2vUMT6SkQdVMhbKUqg==
  • Thread-topic: Election for ICANN Board seat number 13

Hello All,

In accordance with the ICANN bylaws 

Under ARTICLE VI: Section 8, Paragraph 1, sub-paragraph e: 
"The regular terms of Seats 10 and 13 shall begin on the day six months
after the conclusion of ICANN's annual meeting in 2003 and each ICANN
annual meeting every third year after 2003;"

An election is required for seat number 13, six months after the annual
meeting in 2003 (held on 31 Oct 2003).

We need to elect a person to fill seat number 13 by 30 April 2004.

Seat 13 is currently occupied by:
Alejandro Pisanty

The process used in the last election is described at:

Only GNSO council members may nominate and vote for candidates, although
GNSO Council members should consult with their constituencies with
regard to suitable candidates.

The criteria for ICANN Board members are set out in the nomination
process and are derived from the ICANN by-laws.

Note that:
"At any given time, no two Directors selected by a Supporting
Organization shall be citizens of the same country or of countries
located in the same Geographic Region. "

The other GNSO elected director is Michael Palage, occupying seat 14,
from the United States of America in the North American region.

I recommend we use the same process as the last election, and call for
nominations to begin now until 19 Feb 2004  (ie a 14 day period).

Please indicate if you support this approach.

Bruce Tonkin

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>