Final Agenda 21 December 2017

Last Updated: 21 December 2017
Date: 
21 December 2017

Please note that all documents referenced in the agenda have been gathered on a Wiki page for convenience and easier access: https://community.icann.org/x/5xJyB

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Operating Procedures v3.2, updated on 01 September 2016.

For convenience:

  • An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.
  • An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.

Coordinated Universal Time: 12:00 UTC: https://tinyurl.com/y8399lg5

04:00 Los Angeles; 07:00 Washington; 12:00 London; 17:00 Islamabad; 21:00 Tokyo; 23:00 Hobart

GNSO Council Meeting Audio Cast

To join the event click on the link: http://stream.icann.org:8000/stream01.m3u

Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if they will not be able to attend and/or need a dial out call.


Item 1. Administrative Matters (5 mins)

1.1 - Roll Call

1.2 - Updates to Statements of Interest

1.3 - Review / Amend Agenda

1.4 - Note the status of minutes for the previous Council meetings per the GNSO Operating Procedures:

Minutes of Part 1 and minutes of Part 2 of the GNSO Council on the 1 November 2017 were posted on 23 November 2017.

Minutes of the GNSO Council meeting on the 30 November were posted on 21 November 2017

Item 2. Opening Remarks / Review of Projects & Action List (10 mins)

2.1 - Review focus areas and provide updates on specific key themes / topics, to include review of Projects List and Action Item List

Item 3. Consent Agenda (0 min)

None

Item 4: COUNCIL VOTE – Adoption of the charter for the GNSO Standing Committee on Budget and Operations on in interim basis (15 minutes)

The GNSO Council has determined that it may need to provide a Council specific response (not to supersede any response from any SG/C) to certain ICANN budget related public comments. On an informal trial basis, a small team of Councilors has considered two public comments 1) Draft PTI and IANA FY19 Operating Plans and Budgets and 2) ICANN Reserve Fund – Public Comment on Rationale and Target Level and prepared draft responses( https://gnso.icann.org/en/drafts/draft-comments-plan-budget-26nov17-en.pdf and https://gnso.icann.org/en/drafts/draft-comments-icann-reserve-fund-27nov17-en.pdf) to both for Council consideration.

The small team of Councilors has prepared a draft charter for the proposed standing committee. This charter may be adopted on an interim basis to allow that the process be tested to help determine if the charter is fit-for-purpose. The GNSO Standing Committee on Budget and Operations (SCBO) will be tasked with reviewing and preparing comment to ICANN's FY19 Draft Budget planning cycle and will operate under this interim charter. After having completed the review of the FY19 Draft ICANN Budget and Operating Plan, the SCBO will conduct a review of the process and suggest changes to the interim charter, if appropriate. 

Here, the Council will vote to adopt the GNSO Standing Committee on Budget and Operations charter on an interim basis.

4.1 – Presentation of motion (Michele Neylon)

4.2 – Council discussion

4.3 – Council vote (voting threshold: simple majority)

Item 5: COUNCIL DISCUSSION – Update on the charter drafting exercise related to the next steps for the ICANN Procedure of Handling Whois conflicts with Privacy (20 minutes)

As a result of community input and the work of the Implementation Advisory Group (IAG), ICANN made effective the revised WHOIS Conflicts with Privacy Law Procedure on 18 April 2017 to better accommodate issues where Whois requirements conflict with applicable laws.

As requested by this GNSO Council, ICANN published a paper for public comment to provide analysis and solicit community input on the practicality and feasibility of the triggers identified in the revised WHOIS Conflicts with Privacy Law Procedure. The public comment period was also intended to collect suggestions for moving forward with the review. The public comment period closed on 7 July 2017 and the staff report of public comments was published on 28 July 2017.

On 1 August 2017, the Council received a letter from Akram Atallah, providing a collection of possible options for proceeding with the review, and offering to discuss those options or others identified by Council. On 24 August 2017, the Council received an update from GDD staff and discussed possible options for moving forward with the review of the Procedure For Handling WHOIS Conflicts with Privacy Law.

A small group of Councilors have agreed to draft a charter (including guidelines and parameters around scope, deliverables, membership, operating procedures, etc.) by which a subsequent group will operate by as in takes into account feedback received via the aforementioned public comment and letter from Akram Attallah and provides suggested next steps.

Here, the Council will receive an update on that charter drafting process.

5.1 – Presentation of discussion topic (Heather Forrest)

5.2 – Council Discussion

5.3 – Next Steps

Item 6: COUNCIL DISCUSSION – Update on progress for the "Review of all Rights Protection Mechanisms in all gTLDs" data request (15 minutes)

The Review of All Rights Protection Mechanisms (RPMs) in All gTLDs PDP Working Group identified a need for data, at this stage specifically related to the Sunrise Registration and Trademark Claims Period RPMs, in order for the Working Group to conduct a thorough review of the effectiveness of these RPMs, as directed by its Charter. It submitted a DMPM request accordingly to the GNSO Council on 16 September 2017, which was subsequently adopted during the Council's 20 September 2017 meeting.

In adopting the motion, it was resolved that "The GNSO Council requests a follow up report from the Review of All RPMs in All gTLDs PDP Working Group on the progress and outcomes of its DMPM request in time for the GNSO Council's meeting scheduled for 21 December 2017, and a regular written report thereafter, at intervals of not less frequently than monthly, followed by a detailed status report on the Working Group's view of the utility of the data collection exercise on the progress and timeline of Phase One of the PDP by ICANN61."

Here, per the resolved clause described above, the Council will receive an update from the co-chairs of the Review of All RPMs in All gTLDs PDP WG.

6.1 - Update on planning for ICANN61 (PDP WG co-chairs) Presentation

6.2 – Council discussion

6.3 – Next steps

Item 7: COUNCIL DISCUSSION – Planning for ICANN61 (10 minutes)

Taking note of the proposed block schedule for ICANN61, discussed at ICANN60 in Abu Dhabi and available here, a draft GNSO schedule has been prepared for Council consideration. This draft largely follows the outline of the ICANN60 schedule. Based on requests received to date from the different GNSO PDP WGs, CCWGs WGs, and cross community session landscape, the Council leadership has prepared a draft GNSO schedule for Council input and review (https://gnso.icann.org/en/drafts/icann61-draft-gnso-schedule-20dec17-en.pdf). Following Council review, this draft GNSO schedule will be shared with the GNSO Stakeholder Groups and Constituencies to facilitate their planning and scheduling.

7.1 - Update on planning for ICANN61 (Council leadership)

7.2 – Council discussion

7.3 – Next steps

Item 8: ANY OTHER BUSINESS (10 minutes)

8.1 – Second Security, Stability, and Resiliency (SSR2) Review Team: Update on progress with SO/AC chairs, as well as review of scoping document and skills matrix.

8.2 – Update on the GNSO Council Strategic Planning Session in January of 2018.


Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article 11, Section 11.3(i))

See https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/governance/bylaws-en/#article11.

Appendix 2: GNSO Council Absentee Voting Procedures (GNSO Operating Procedures, Section 4.4)

See https://gnso.icann.org/en/council/op-procedures-01sep16-en.pdf.

References for Coordinated Universal Time of 12:00 UTC

Local time between March and October Summer in the NORTHERN hemisphere


California, USA (PDT) UTC-8 04:00
San José, Costa Rica (CST) UTC-6 06:00
New York/Washington DC, USA (EDT) UTC-5 07:00
Buenos Aires, Argentina (ART) UTC-3 09:00
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (BRST) UTC-2 10:00
London, United Kingdom (GMT) UTC 12:00
Paris, France (CEST) UTC+1 13:00
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo (WAT) UTC+1 13:00
Islamabad, Pakistan (PKT) UTC+5 17:00
Singapore (SGT) UTC+8 20:00
Tokyo, Japan (JST) UTC+9 21:00
Sydney/Hobart, Australia (AEDT) UTC+11 23:00


DST starts/ends on Sunday 25 of March 2018, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions) for EU countries.


For other places see http://www.timeanddate.com and https://tinyurl.com/ybc6l7pl