Final Proposed Agenda 01 November 2017 Part I

Last Updated: 30 October 2017
Date: 
1 November 2017

Please note that all documents referenced in the agenda have been gathered on a Wiki page for convenience and easier access: https://community.icann.org/x/1iIhB

This agenda was established according to the GNSO Operating Procedures v3.2, updated on 01 September 2016.

For convenience:

  • An excerpt of the ICANN Bylaws defining the voting thresholds is provided in Appendix 1 at the end of this agenda.
  • An excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures defining the absentee voting procedures is provided in Appendix 2 at the end of this agenda.

Coordinated Universal Time: 09:00 UTC: http://tinyurl.com/yaxkzhpl

02:00 Los Angeles; 05:00 Washington; 09:00 London; 12:00 Istanbul; 20:00 Hobart

GNSO Council Meeting Audio Cast
To join the event click on the link: http://stream.icann.org:8000/abu60-hallbc-en.m3u

Councilors should notify the GNSO Secretariat in advance if they will not be able to attend and/or need a dial out call.


Item 1. Administrative Matters (5 mins)

1.1 - Roll Call

1.2 - Updates to Statements of Interest

1.3 - Review / Amend Agenda

1.4 - Note the status of minutes for the previous Council meetings per the GNSO Operating Procedures:

Minutes of the meeting of the GNSO Council on 20 September 2017, were posted on 9th October 2017

Minutes of the meeting of the GNSO Council on 12 October 2017, will be posted on 3rd November 2017

Item 2. Opening Remarks / Review of Projects & Action List (10 mins)

2.1 - Review focus areas and provide updates on specific key themes / topics, to include review of Projects List and Action Item List

Item 3. Consent Agenda (0 min)

None

Item 4: COUNCIL VOTE – Appointment of the next GNSO Liaison to the Governmental Advisory Committee (15 minutes)

During the discussions of the GAC-GNSO Consultation Group, a GNSO liaison to the GAC was proposed as a way to facilitate engagement of the GAC in GNSO policy development activities. On 7 November 2016, the GNSO Council appointed Carlos Raúl Gutiérrez to serve in this role.

For the selection of the next GNSO liaison to the GAC, the GNSO Council has delegated the review and selection process to the GNSO Standing Selection Committee (SSC). The SSC reviewed all applications received and achieved full consensus in selecting Julf Helsingius as its preferred candidate.

Here, the Council will thank Carlos for his service in support of this role and vote to approve Julf as his successor.

4.1 – Presentation of motion (Susan Kawaguchi)

4.2 – Council discussion

4.3 – Council vote (voting threshold: simple majority)

Item 5: COUNCIL DISCUSSION – Discussion on the Second Security, Stability, and Resiliency (SSR2) Review Team and Registration Directory Service (RDS) Review Team (15 minutes)

The ICANN Bylaws call for periodic assessment by community review teams in the areas of:

  • Accountability and Transparency Review
  • Security, Stability, and Resiliency Review
  • Competition, Consumer Trust and Consumer Choice Review
  • Registration Directory Service Review

The GNSO Council has asked that the GNSO representatives to these review teams, including the Security, Stability, and Resiliency Review Team (SSR-2 RT) and the Registration Directory Service Review Team (RDS-RT), provide regular feedback and updates as a group on the discussions taking place in the respective groups, as well as the positions being taken by GNSO representatives individually.

There are some concerns within the community about the level of progress and direction of these reviews teams, including from the SSAC and the ICANN Board for SSR-2 RT and the ccNSO for the RDS-RT.

Here, the Council will discuss some of these concerns and consider how it might be able to provide guidance or assistance to help the review teams better achieve its goals.

5.1 - Presentation of discussion topic (Council Leadership)

5.2 – Council discussion

5.3 – Next steps

Item 6: COUNCIL DISCUSSION – Update from the GNSO Review Working Group (15 minutes)

On 21 July 2016, the GNSO Council adopted the charter for the GNSO Review Working Group. The WG was directed to propose an implementation plan to the GNSO Council for approval at the latest by ICANN57. On 15 December 2016, the GNSO Council adopted the proposed implementation plan, directing staff to submit the plan to the ICANN Board for its consideration. On 3 February 2017, the ICANN Board accepted the GNSO Review Implementation Plan.

The GNSO Review Working Group was directed to provide the GNSO Council with regular status updates (at a minimum prior to every ICANN meeting) on the status of implementation. As part of this status update, the GNSO Review Working Group should also identify any questions and/or concerns that may have arisen during the implementation that would require further guidance.

Here, the GNSO Review Working Group will provide the GNSO Council with the required update. (GNSO2 Review Progress & Implementation Status Report)

6.1 – Presentation of discussion topic (GNSO Review WG Leadership)

6.2 – Council discussion

6.3 – Next Steps

Item 7: COUNCIL DISCUSSION – Discussion with ICANN Finance (15 minutes)

The GNSO Council is considering forming a Standing Committee to focus on the ICANN Budget and Operational Plan. While no decision has been made and as the Council continues to deliberate on whether it would like to pursue the establishment of this committee, it may be timely to receive an update from ICANN Finance to help the Council understand the nature and frequency of input that may be needed. In addition, ICANNN Finance would like to provide an update on ICANN's Reserve Fund (public comment here) and Long-Term Financial Planning.

Here, the Council will receive an update from ICANN Finance and discuss the topics presented. (Slide deck)

7.1 - Presentation of discussion topic (ICANN Finance)

7.2 – Council discussion

7.3 – Next steps

Item 8: COUNCIL DISCUSSION – Community gTLD Change Request Process (15 minutes)

ICANN Organization has received requests, including from fTLD, to amend Specification 12 of their Registry Agreements. ICANN has denied the requests, stating in part that they are not currently in a position to approve requests to amend community restrictions in Specification 12 of the New gTLD Registry Agreement.

In follow-up discussions with ICANN GDD and Legal staff, fTLD was told that ICANN could not consider the requested changes because there was no community-developed/supported process to enable them to do so. There was a procedure discussed in the New gTLD Program Explanatory Memorandum Discussion Draft: Community gTLD change request handling, but because it had not been approved nor was it included in the Applicant Guidebook, ICANN could not use this as the basis for considering the request from fTLD and others. As a result, ICANN asked fTLD if it would help lead the way in creating a Community gTLD Change Request process. fTLD agreed to undertake this effort and formed a working group comprised of fTLD and several community-based Registry Operators and New gTLD Applicants to develop a draft Community gTLD Change Request process.

The working group's current draft includes input from the RySG. The working group has also been working closely with ICANN's GDD team.

ICANN has suggested that the GNSO Guidance Process (GGP) might be one path to resolution. fTLD and other impacted parties have concerns about the timeline for a GGP as well as the allocation of community resources to resolve an issue that affects a relatively limited number of Registry Operators. On 11 October, the Council received a letter from Craig Schwartz, intended to provide further clarity about why the issue was brought to the Council.

Here, the Council will discuss the topic and determine next steps.

8.1 – Presentation of topic (Council Leadership)

8.2 – Council Discussion

8.3 – Next Steps

Item 9: ANY OTHER BUSINESS (15 minutes)

9.1 – Discussion about ICANN Org paper on suggested incremental changes to the ICANN meeting strategy.

9.2 – Discussion about next steps for the revised ICANN Procedure for Handling Whois Conflicts with Privacy Law

9.3 - Open Microphone


Appendix 1: GNSO Council Voting Thresholds (ICANN Bylaws, Article 11, Section 11.3(i))

See https://www.icann.org/resources/pages/governance/bylaws-en/#article11.

Appendix 2: GNSO Council Absentee Voting Procedures (GNSO Operating Procedures, Section 4.4)

See https://gnso.icann.org/en/council/op-procedures-01sep16-en.pdf.

References for Coordinated Universal Time of 09:00 UTC
Local time between March and October Summer in the NORTHERN hemisphere


California, USA (PDT) UTC-7 02:00
San José, Costa Rica UTC-6 03:00
Iowa City, USA (CDT) UTC-5 04:00
New York/Washington DC, USA (EDT) UTC-4 05:00
Buenos Aires, Argentina (ART) UTC-3 06:00
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (BRST) UTC-3 07:00
London, United Kingdom (GMT) UTC 09:00
Bonn, Germany (CET) UTC+1 10:00
Cairo, Egypt, (EET) UTC+2 11:00
Istanbul, Turkey (TRT) UTC+3 12:00
Singapore (SGT) UTC+8 17:00
Tokyo, Japan (JST) UTC+9 18:00
Sydney/Hobart, Australia (AEDT) UTC+11 20:00

 


DST starts/ends on Sunday 29 of October 2017, 2:00 or 3:00 local time (with exceptions) for EU countries.


For other places see http://www.timeanddate.com and http://tinyurl.com/yaxkzhpl