ICANN/GNSO GNSO Email List Archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

RE: [registrars] calls from "Domain Registry Support"

  • To: "'Larry Erlich'" <erlich@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, <registrars@xxxxxxxx>
  • Subject: RE: [registrars] calls from "Domain Registry Support"
  • From: "Jay Westerdal" <jwesterdal@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Fri, 4 Nov 2005 10:47:15 -0800
  • In-reply-to: <436B9FBE.3040600@DomainRegistry.com>
  • Sender: owner-registrars@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Thread-index: AcXhamglATnFD0ZwR9a3Ha86yRjJ7wAA/OFw

I sent a message to the list yesterday regarding that
exact fax you speak of, I assume Ram read our list
and forwarded it to you. Just to correct the garbled facts.

>> The fax came from 206-337-0652 and included a phone
>> number on it [...] 

That is incorrect, it was sent TO: 206-337-0652. I should
know as that is my fax number. The caller ID on the sender
was not given but on the fax it said sent, "FROM FAX
1-888-248-9510 NOTIFICATION SERVER". However because there
was no called ID I can't verify that is truly the number
it came from.

If for some reason we are talking about a different
fax and someone is truly sending faxes using my number can
you please post it to the list.

Jay Westerdal
Name Intelligence, Inc.

-----Original Message-----
From: owner-registrars@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
[mailto:owner-registrars@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf Of Larry Erlich
Sent: Friday, November 04, 2005 9:52 AM
To: registrars@xxxxxxxx
Subject: [registrars] calls from "Domain Registry Support"

I received an email yesterday from
Ram Mohan of Afilias about a fax that a customer
(I assume) of his received from an organization calling
itself "Domain Registry Support".

The fax came from 206-337-0652 and included a phone
number on it 800-591-7398.

This "Domain Registry Support" is sending out faxes
apparently called "Urgent Notice of Domain Extension" which
is just a twist on the "include reference to US Legal Code to
try and get you to think it is legit" scam.

I'll try and get a pdf of this posted (I don't have a scanner
at work believe it or not) if anyone cares about this.

Ram wanted to know if DomainRegistry.com was behind this
and obviously *we are not*. Let me repeat that DomainRegistry.com
has nothing to do with this or the other 60 flavors of
this that have happened over the years.

(Apparently Ram had seen me driving
around in a Maybach 62. I actually can afford this car
solely as a result of
drug profits and gambling. So it was natural for him to
think I had figured out an easy way to make money
in the domain business.)

Just today I received a phone call from the same organization
by phone asking me to verify some information. I hung up after
getting the 800 number, which was the same one on the fax. If you
do a search for 800-591-7398 can see what some other people
think of this.

In any case the domain is "domainregistrysupport.com" which is
a Wild West domain protected by Domains By Proxy.


Larry Erlich

DomainRegistry.com Inc.
ICANN Accredited Registrar * Since 1996

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>