ICANN/GNSO GNSO Email List Archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

RE: [registrars] calls from "Domain Registry Support"

  • To: registrars@xxxxxxxx
  • Subject: RE: [registrars] calls from "Domain Registry Support"
  • From: Mike Lampson <lampson@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Fri, 04 Nov 2005 13:44:31 -0500
  • Cc: Larry Erlich <erlich@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Importance: Normal
  • In-reply-to: <436B9FBE.3040600@DomainRegistry.com>
  • Sender: owner-registrars@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

This fax number was used for the Domain Roundtable signups hosted by Name
Intelligence.  I'm finding 2 different addresses for them so I'm not sure
which is more current:

Domain Roundtable
c/o Name Intelligence
1800 NE 44th Street
Suite 220
Renton, WA 98005
Tel: +1-206-838-9037
Fax: +1-206-337-0652

 Name Intelligence, Inc.
 12806 SE 22nd PL
 Bellevue, WA 98005
 By phone: 206-838-9035

However the 800 number is found at this web site:

(I have no affiliation with either of these groups.)



-----Original Message-----
From: owner-registrars@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
[mailto:owner-registrars@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx]On Behalf Of Larry Erlich
Sent: Friday, November 04, 2005 12:52 PM
To: registrars@xxxxxxxx
Subject: [registrars] calls from "Domain Registry Support"

I received an email yesterday from
Ram Mohan of Afilias about a fax that a customer
(I assume) of his received from an organization calling
itself "Domain Registry Support".

The fax came from 206-337-0652 and included a phone
number on it 800-591-7398.

This "Domain Registry Support" is sending out faxes
apparently called "Urgent Notice of Domain Extension" which
is just a twist on the "include reference to US Legal Code to
try and get you to think it is legit" scam.

I'll try and get a pdf of this posted (I don't have a scanner
at work believe it or not) if anyone cares about this.

Ram wanted to know if DomainRegistry.com was behind this
and obviously *we are not*. Let me repeat that DomainRegistry.com
has nothing to do with this or the other 60 flavors of
this that have happened over the years.

(Apparently Ram had seen me driving
around in a Maybach 62. I actually can afford this car
solely as a result of
drug profits and gambling. So it was natural for him to
think I had figured out an easy way to make money
in the domain business.)

Just today I received a phone call from the same organization
by phone asking me to verify some information. I hung up after
getting the 800 number, which was the same one on the fax. If you
do a search for 800-591-7398 can see what some other people
think of this.

In any case the domain is "domainregistrysupport.com" which is
a Wild West domain protected by Domains By Proxy.


Larry Erlich

DomainRegistry.com Inc.
ICANN Accredited Registrar * Since 1996

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>