ICANN/GNSO GNSO Email List Archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

Re: [ga] Verisign rushes to roll out typo-squatting system on Monday

  • To: Karl Auerbach <karl@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, Dan Steinberg <synthesis@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Subject: Re: [ga] Verisign rushes to roll out typo-squatting system on Monday
  • From: George Kirikos <gkirikos@xxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Sun, 14 Sep 2003 23:31:35 -0700 (PDT)
  • Cc: George Kirikos <gkirikos@xxxxxxxxx>, ga@xxxxxxxx, discuss-list@xxxxxxxxxxx
  • In-reply-to: <Pine.LNX.4.44.0309142237140.22798-100000@npax.cavebear.com>
  • Sender: owner-ga@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx


--- Karl Auerbach <karl@xxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
> > >"gTLD Registry operators WILL return NXDOMAIN for ALL DNS queries
> for
> > >which there is not a REGISTERED domain name."
> > what existing technical standards are you suggesting are being
> broken by 
> > the "abusive monopolist" ?
> Well, if queries for unregistered domains are returning records,
> those
> records have TTL (time to live) values.
> And if someone comes along and registers that name, the usability of
> that
> name is contaminated for at least the duration of that TTL, usually
> longer.

Here's another related abuse. Suppose a domain name expires (but hasn't
been deleted), or is pulled out of the zone file for another reason
(e.g. client isn't using it at the moment). The registry will be
monetizing traffic on a domain that IS REGISTERED! That's stealing. If
one has website monitoring software, to alert you to the "downtime" of
a website (e.g. due to the domain expiring), you would never have been
alerted, as the website would come back online, but pointing to a
Verislime site instead.

Furthermore, suppose the domain name is something like
canadasbestapples.com, and I choose to register it with no nameservers,
planning to sell yummy apple fruits. But, it being wildcarded by the
registry, there turns out to be a landing page for Macintosh computers,
as someone decided to advertise that term on the domain name. Apple
Computer decides to UDRP the registrant of canadasbestapples.com, due
to the TM infringement!

UDRP Panelists tend to be easily confused (e.g. see the Diablo.com case
at http://www.arbforum.com/domains/decisions/154596.htm how they found
the domain was registered October 29, 2002, using the improper
registrar WHOIS, instead of the true date of September 12, 1995, if one
uses the Registry WHOIS), many will be clueless as to the nameservers
not existing, with the redirection really being done by Verisign.

Anyone that's for TM rights should be appalled by Verisign's behaviour.
It's funny how a few in the IP community were fooled by Verisign's BS
over WLS, pretending to be their friend....now we see Verisign
unmasked, in all their ugliness.


George Kirikos

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>