ICANN/GNSO GNSO Email List Archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

[council] GNSO Council resolution 9 July 2009

  • To: Council GNSO <council@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Subject: [council] GNSO Council resolution 9 July 2009
  • From: Glen de Saint Géry <Glen@xxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Tue, 14 Jul 2009 15:19:11 -0700
  • Accept-language: fr-FR, en-US
  • Acceptlanguage: fr-FR, en-US
  • List-id: council@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Sender: owner-council@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Thread-index: AcoA6I8QIXuM1IeWT62Bw6t+hrIG6AAXdr2gABdIyoAAIkpyoACYmZLQABBujQA=
  • Thread-topic: GNSO Council resolution 9 July 2009

Dear Councillors,

Ahead of the formal meeting minutes, the GNSO Council, at its meeting on 
Thursday, 9 July 2009 passed the resolution noted below.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thank you.
Kind regards


By-Law Changes Motion proposed by Avri Doria and seconded by Chuck Gomes 


On 28 August 2008 the ICANN Board of Directors approved the BGC plan to 
restructuring of the GNSO; and

On 27 March 2009 the ICANN Policy Staff introduced a draft of proposed by-law 
changes related to the restructuring of the GNSO; and

Subsequent to receiving the changes suggested by the ICANN Policy Staff, the 
GNSO Council decided to create a Committee of the Whole to work on a proposed 
set of changes to the By-laws which committee was open to council members as 
well as substitutes from the constituencies and to representatives of applicant 
constituencies; and

On 8 June 2009 the Structural Improvements Committee of the Board Directors 
gave a set of clarification to questions posed by the GNSO Committee of the 
Whole; and

On 12 June 2009, the ICANN legal counsel gave a set of recommend edits to the 
GNSO Committee of the whole.


The GNSO recommends to the ICANN Board of Directors that the By-laws related to 
the GNSO council be amended to read as documented in: 

The Motion passed.

12 Votes in favour:
Adrian Kinderis, Tim Ruiz (Registrar constituency), Jordi Iparraguirre, Edmon 
Chung, Chuck Gomes (gTLD Registries constituency) (two votes each)
Avri Doria, Olga Cavalli (Nominating Committee Appointees)(one vote each) 

3 Abstentions: William Drake, Carlos Souza (Non-Commercial Users Constituency), 
Kristina Rosette (Intellectual Property Constituency).

1 Vote against: Cyril Chua (Intellectual Property Constituency).

Absent Council members: Philip Sheppard, Mike Rodenbaugh, Zahid Jamil 
(Commercial and Business Users Constituency), Ute Decker (Intellectual Property 
Constituency), Tony Holmes, Tony Harris, Greg Ruth (Internet Service and 
Connectivity Providers Constituency),  Mary Wong (Non-Commercial Users 
Constituency), Terry Davis (Nominating Committee Appointees), Stéphane van 
Gelder (Registrar constituency).

Kristina Rosette: Reason for abstention:
It is inappropriate for there to be a vote on the by-laws until we have a 
resolution of the allocation of Board seats 13 and 14 as well as the absence of 
language pertaining to the temporary transitional allocation of the six seats 
in the NCSG.

Bill Drake: Reason for abstention
Reason for abstention:
I abstain because the document is not done and we are waiting for clarification 
of some closely linked issues that will affect our participation in the new GNSO

Carlos Souza: Reason for abstaining:
I understand that the wording regarding the NCSG seats have been changed and we 
do not have the blank space at the end of the clause as it was presented in 
Sydney. However, there are some issues that require further input and the 
document as today is still incomplete on that regard. 

Glen de Saint Géry
GNSO Secretariat

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>