Minutes of the GNSO Council Meeting 13 November 2024 Part II

GNSO Council meeting held in Istanbul, Türkiye 15:30-16:00 EEST: https://tinyurl.com/55n6wswb

Coordinated Universal Time: 12:30-13:00 UTC

04:30 Los Angeles; 07:30 Washington DC; 12:30 London; 13:30 Paris; 15:30 Moscow; 23:30

Melbourne

List of attendees:

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): **– Non-Voting** – Anne Aikman Scalese **Contracted Parties House**

Registrar Stakeholder Group: Hong-Fu Meng, Greg DiBiase, Prudence Malinki gTLD Registries Stakeholder Group: Nacho Amadoz, Samantha Demetriou (incoming RySG Councilor), Jennifer Chung

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Desiree Zeljka Miloshevic Evans

Non-Contracted Parties House

Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG): Lawrence Olawale-Roberts (in case of connectivity issue, proxy to Vivek Goyal), Vivek Goyal (incoming BC Councilor), Osvaldo Novoa, Thomas Rickert, Damon Ashcraft, Susan Payne (in case of connectivity issues, proxy to Damon Ashcraft)

Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG): Farzaneh Badii (incoming NCSG Councilor), Bruna Martins dos Santos, Julf Helsingius, Tomslin Samme-Nlar (apology, proxy to Peter Akinremi), Peter Akinremi, Manju Chen

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Paul McGrady

GNSO Council Liaisons/Observers:

Justine Chew: ALAC Liaison

Sebastien Ducos: GNSO liaison to the GAC – first meeting, replaces Jeff Neuman

Antonia Chu: ccNSO observer

ICANN Staff:

Mary Wong - Vice President, Strategic Policy Management

Steve Chan – Vice President, Policy Development Support & GNSO Relations

Julie Hedlund - Policy Development Support Director (GNSO)

Berry Cobb - Senior Program Manager, Policy Development Support

Caitlin Tubergen - Policy Development Support Director (GNSO)

Saewon Lee - Policy Development Support Manager (GNSO)

Feodora Hamza - Policy Development Support Manager (GNSO)

John Emery - Policy Development Support Senior Specialist (GNSO)

Terri Agnew - Policy Operations Senior Specialist (GNSO)

Devan Reed – Policy Operations Coordinator

Item 1: Seating of the 2024-2025 Council

1.1 - Roll Call

1.2 - Statements of Interest

INCOMING COUNCILORS & LIAISONS:

Samantha Demetriou: <u>SOI</u> Registries Stakeholder Group (RySG)

Hong-Fu Meng: <u>SOI</u> Registrars Stakeholder Group (RrSG) Vivek Goyal: <u>SOI</u> Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG - BC) Farzaneh Badiei: <u>SOI</u> Non-commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG) Julf Helsingius: <u>SOI</u> Non-commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG)

Sebastien Ducos: <u>SOI</u> GNSO Liaison to the Governmental Advisory Committee (GAC)

Antonia Chu: SOI ccNSO appointed Liaison to the GNSO Council

1.3 - Review / Amend Agenda

Nacho Amadoz, GNSO Council Vice-Chair, welcomed the new GNSO Councilors and invited them to introduce themselves.

Vivek Goyal, **BC**, thanked the Council and noted he has been a member of the BC for a few years.

Samantha Demetriou, RySG, introduced herself as "Sam" and has been chair of the RySG for 4 years and is excited to work with Council

Farzaneh Badiei, NCSG, introduced herself as a part of the stakeholder group that advances human rights and digital rights and hopes to advance the rights of registrants especially with DNS abuse mitigation.

Julf Helsingius, **NCSG**, stated he is glad to be on Council again after first two years as a noncom appointee and has been chair of noncom and is happy to be back working on policy.

Sebastien Ducos, **GAC**, he has been working on the registry side of the room with Sam and was on Council for 4 years and chaired it for one and is back after a break.

Item 2. Election of the Chair

One nomination was received for this position from Gregory DiBiase of the Contracted Party House. Gregory circulated his <u>candidate statement</u> to the GNSO Council on 25 October 2024. Here the GNSO Council will proceed to hold the election for its Chair for 2024-2025, according to the GNSO Operating Procedures (note Section 2.2 of the GNSO Operating Procedures on Officer Elections: Chair and Vice-Chairs (see Appendix 1 below)).

Terri Agnew, ICANN org, called for a vote for Greg DiBiase or none of the above.

All Councilors present voted in favor of Greg DiBiase as GNSO Chair.

Item 3. Election of GNSO Council Vice Chair 2024-2025

Non-Contracted Party House - Tomslin Samme-Nlar

Contracted Party House - Nacho Amadoz

Terri Agnew, **ICANN org**, noted that Tomslin Samme-Nlar and Nacho Amadoz were both put forward by their houses as vice-chairs again so we are with good leadership

Item 4. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

4.1 - TBD

End Time: 12:40 UTC