Minutes of the GNSO Council Meeting 25 October 2023

Agenda and Documents

GNSO Council meeting in Hamburg, Germany on Wednesday, 25 October 2023 at 13:00 CEST: <u>https://tinyurl.com/6p8yscar</u>

04:00 Los Angeles; 07:00 Washington DC; 12:00 London; 13:00 Paris; 14:00 Moscow; 22:00 Melbourne

List of attendees:

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): – Non-Voting – Anne Aikman Scalese Contracted Parties House Registrar Stakeholder Group: Antonia Chu, Greg DiBiase, Theo Geurts gTLD Registries Stakeholder Group: Nacho Amadoz, Kurt Pritz , Jennifer Chung Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Desiree Zeljka Miloshevic Evans Non-Contracted Parties House Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG): Lawrence Olawale-Roberts, Mark Datysgeld (apologies, proxy to Lawrence Olawale-Roberts), Osvaldo Novoa,Thomas Rickert, Damon Ashcraft, Susan Payne Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG): Stephanie Perrin, Bruna Martins dos Santos, Wisdom Donkor, Tomslin Samme-Nlar,Taiwo Peter Akinremi, Manju Chen Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Paul McGrady GNSO Council Liaisons/Observers : Justine Chew : ALAC Liaison Jeff Neuman: GNSO liaison to the GAC Everton Rodrigues: ccNSO observer

Guest: Sebastien Ducos

ICANN Staff:

David Olive - Senior Vice President, Policy Development Support and Managing Manager, ICANN Regional (apologies) Marika Konings - Vice President, Policy Development Support Mary Wong - Vice President, Strategic Policy Management Steve Chan – Vice President, Policy Development Support & GNSO Relations Julie Hedlund - Policy Development Support Director (GNSO) Berry Cobb - Senior Program Manager, Policy Development Support Ariel Liang - Policy Development Support Manager (GNSO) Caitlin Tubergen - Policy Development Support Director (GNSO) Terri Agnew - Policy Operations Specialist (GNSO) Devan Reed - Secretariat Operations Coordinator

Zoom recording Transcript

Item 1. Seating of the 2023 / 2024 Council

Sebastien Ducos, Outgoing GNSO Chair, welcomed the incoming GNSO Councilors and asked them to make introductory statements.

Damon Ashcraft, IPC, shared that he looks forward to working with the GNSO Council, and that he is an attorney at Snell and Wilmer and that he lives in Phoenix, Arizona.

Jennifer Chung, RySG, shared that she is looking forward to working with the GNSO, and that she is incoming Registries Stakeholder Group Councilor, and that she works for dotAsia.

Lawrence Olawale-Roberts, BC, shared that he is a Nigerian and he served as a Vice-Chair of Finance and Operations in the Business Constituency for the last three years, and is very excited to join the GNSO Council.

Taiwo Peter Akenremi, NCUC, shared that he is a member of the Non-commercial Stakeholder Group and is happy to be in the GNSO Council.

Item 2. Election of the Chair

One nomination was received for this position, Gregory DiBiase, who circulated his <u>candidate statement</u> to the GNSO Council on 07 October 2023.

Sebastien Ducos, Outgoing GNSO Chair, reminded councilors that given Gregory BiBiase was an uncontested candidate for the GNSO Chair, voting via closed ballot, as is tradition during face-to face sessions, had been discarded by Council leadership in favor of an open roll call vote. This procedure had received no objection on the GNSO Council mailing list.

The Council proceeded to elect the chair according to the GNSO Operating Procedures:

GNSO OPERATING PROCEDURES

https://gnso.icann.org/sites/default/files/file/field-file-attach/op-procedures-24oct19-en.pdf

Section 2.2 Officer Elections: Chair and Vice-Chairs

The roll call vote was done by acclamation

With the 60% threshold attained in both the Contracted Party House and the Non Contracted Party House, **Gregory DiBiase** was elected GNSO Chair for 2023-2024.

Gregory DiBiase, GNSO Chair, thanked councilors and both Houses for their support, and shared that he looks forward to the Strategic Planning Session.

Vote results

Item 3. Election of GNSO Council Vice Chairs 2023-2024

Non-Contracted Party House - Tomslin Samme-Nlar

Contracted Party House - Nacho Amadoz

Gregory DiBiase, GNSO Chair, welcomed Tomslin Samme-Nlar and Nacho Amadoz and congratulated them on their respective appointments.

Manju Chen, NCUC, raised her hand to replace Farell Folly as the GNSO Council Liaison to IDNs EPDP.

Gregory DiBiase, GNSO Chair, adjourned the meeting at 15:31 CEST.

The next GNSO Council meeting will take place on Thursday, 16 November 2023 at 21:00 UTC.