Minutes of the GNSO Council Meeting 27 October 2021 part II Agenda and Documents

GNSO Council meeting held 15:00 PDT (Seattle, WA)

Coordinated Universal Time: 22:00 UTC: https://tinyurl.com/tpmskvm9

15:00 Los Angeles; 18:00 Washington DC; 23:00 London; (Thursday) 00:00 Paris; 01:00 Moscow; 09:00 Melbourne

List of attendees:

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): - Non-Voting - Olga Cavalli

Contracted Parties House

Registrar Stakeholder Group: Antonia Chu, Kristian Ørmen, Greg Dibiase, gTLD Registries Stakeholder Group: Maxim Alzoba, Kurt Pritz, Sebastien Ducos, Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Desiree Miloshevic (absent)

Non-Contracted Parties House

Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG): Marie Pattullo, Mark Datysgeld, Philippe Fouquart, Thomas Rickert, John McElwaine, (Flip Petillion apologies, temporary alternate Susan Payne), Susan Payne Non Commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG) Manju Chen, Wisdom Donkor, Tomslin Samme-Nlar, Farrell Folly, Stephanie Perrin (arrived for item 3), Juan Manuel Rojas

Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Paul McGrady

GNSO Council Liaisons/Observers:

Justine Chew – ALAC Liaison Jeffrey Neuman– GNSO liaison to the GAC Maarten Simon – ccNSO observer

ICANN Staff

David Olive -Senior Vice President, Policy Development Support and Managing Manager, ICANN Regional

Mary Wong - Vice President, Strategic Community Operations, Planning and Engagement

Marika Konings - Vice President Policy Development Support

Julie Hedlund - Policy Development Support Director

Steve Chan - Senior Director

Berry Cobb - Policy Consultant

Emily Barabas - Policy Senior Manager

Ariel Liang – Policy Senior Specialist

Caitlin Tubergen – Policy Director

Terri Agnew - Operations Support, Lead Administrator

Nathalie Peregrine - Manager, Operations GNSO

Zoom recording Transcript

Item 1. Seating of the 2021 / 2022 Council

1.1 - Roll Call

1.2 - Statements of Interest

Statements of interest were received from the new Councillors:

Antonia Chu - SOI Registrars Stakeholder Group

Desiree Miloshevic - SOI Contracted Party House NomCom Appointee

Thomas Rickert - SOI Internet Service Providers & Connectivity Providers

Manju Chen - SOI Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group

Paul McGrady-SOI - Non-Contracted Party House NomCom Appointee

Justine Chew - SOI - ALAC Liaison to the GNSO

Pam Little, outgoing Contracted Party House Vice Chair, chaired the first portion of the call, and welcomed all incoming councilors to the 2021-2022 Council.

1.3 - Review / Amend Agenda

The agenda was accepted without change.

Item 2. Election of the Chair

One nomination was received for this position, Philippe Fouquart. Philippe circulated his candidate statement to the GNSO Council on 9 October 2021

Pam Little reminded councilors that given the virtual aspect of the GNSO Chair election, voting via closed ballot, as is tradition during face-to face sessions, had been discarded by Council leadership in favour of an open roll call vote. This procedure had received no objection on the GNSO Council mailing list.

The Council proceeded to elect the chair according to the GNSO Operating Procedures.

GNSO OPERATING PROCEDURES

https://gnso.icann.org/sites/default/files/file/field-file-attach/op-procedures-24oct19-en.pdf

Section 2.2 Officer Elections: Chair and Vice-Chairs

The roll call vote was done by open ballot which had two options:

[] Philippe Fouquart

[] None of the Above

Nathalie Peregrine, ICANN Org, tallied the votes.

The results of the election were:

	Candidate 1	Candidate 2
Results:	Philippe Fouquart	None of the above
СРН	6	0
NCPH	12	0
	18	0

СРН	85.71%	0.00%
NCPH	92.31%	0.00 %
	178.02%	00.00%

With the 60% threshold attained in both the Contracted Party House and the Non Contracted Party House, **Philippe Fouquart** was elected GNSO Chair and GNSO Council Chair for 2021-2022.

Philippe Fouquart, GNSO Chair, thanked councilors and both Houses for their support, and promised he would do his utmost. He encouraged all feedback, including the negative.

Action items: none

•

<u>Item 3. Election of GNSO Council Vice Chair 2021-2022</u>

Non-Contracted Part House - Tomslin Samme-Nlar

Contracted Party House - Sebastien Ducos

Philippe Fouquart, GNSO Chair, welcomed Sebastien and Tomslin and congratulated them on their respective appointments.

Item 4. Any Other Business

4.1. Confirm GNSO Chair as interim GNSO Decisional Participant Representative to the Empowered Community

Action Item

Per the process and criteria for the selection of GNSO representative to the Empowered
Community Administration that were adopted by the GNSO Council on 28 June 2017, the GNSO
Chair is confirmed by the GNSO Council upon election as the interim representative to the EC
Admin, until such time as the GNSO leadership team has had an opportunity to meet and decide
who is taking on this role.

ICANN Org support staff then organised an informal Zoom picture of the new 2020- 2021 Council.

Philippe Fouquart, GNSO Chair, adjourned the meeting at 23:00 UTC.

The next GNSO Council meeting will take place on Thursday 19 November 2021.