ICANN/GNSO GNSO Email List Archives


<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>

[ga] Re: Got a virus, Ken?

  • To: "Richard Henderson" <richardhenderson@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Subject: [ga] Re: Got a virus, Ken?
  • From: "Ken Stubbs" <kstubbs@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Tue, 6 Apr 2004 09:25:20 -0400
  • Cc: "ga" <ga@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • References: <001101c41bd6$36198550$2158fc3e@richard>
  • Sender: owner-ga@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

thanks for your note richard,

i would certainly appreciate you checking the message headers as I do not even have you in my address book.

i also ran a complete check of my system with norton anti-virus
and was unable to locate any viruses as well..

i receive numerous messages, (many of which come from "spoofed" email addresses) of this type each day. 

its quite sad to see this mischievous behavior

  ----- Original Message ----- 
  From: Richard Henderson 
  To: General Assembly of the DNSO 
  Cc: kstubbs@xxxxxxxxxxx 
  Sent: Tuesday, April 06, 2004 8:53 AM
  Subject: Got a virus, Ken?

  I know I've sometimes expressed concerns about Ken Stubbs association with ICANN and how I wondered if that created a conflict of interest at the time that he headed up Afilias's (successful) application for the .info registry... but... I think this virus-laden message I received today was probably sent unwittingly from your computer, and I just want to advise you and the members of this list who may also be in your address book that you seem to have a virus Ken which is sending out very plausible messages to people making them think they are about to lose their e-mail accounts for improper use and tempting them to 'open up' the accompanying document. A phone call to my e-mail provider confirmed that this message purporting to come from them was not from them at all. So please be careful if any of you receive a message like this one below:


  Return-Path: <kstubbs@xxxxxxxxxxx>

  Received: from [snip]for <richardhenderson@xxxxxxxxxxxx>;

            Tue, 6 Apr 2004 11:33:05 +0100

  Date: Sun, 11 Apr 2004 12:34:16 +0100

  To: richardhenderson@xxxxxxxxxxxx

  Subject: E-mail account security warning.

  From: management@xxxxxxxxxxxx

  Message-ID: <snip >

  MIME-Version: 1.0

  Content-Type: multipart/mixed;

          boundary="--------snip "



  Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"

  Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit


  Dear user  of Ntlworld.com,


  Your  e-mail account will  be disabled because of improper  using in next

  three days, if  you  are  still wishing to use  it, please, resign your

  account information.


  Advanced details can  be  found in attached  file.


  Kind regards,

     The  Ntlworld.com  team 

  ----------[attached file obviously snipped] 

<<< Chronological Index >>>    <<< Thread Index >>>