Minutes of the GNSO Council Admin Meeting 1 November 2017 - ICANN60

Agenda and Documents

Coordinated Universal Time: 10:15 UTC: http://tinyurl.com/yafrmhmm

04:15 Los Angeles; 07:15 Washington; 10:15 London; 14:15 Istanbul; 22:15 Hobart

The meeting started at: 10:20 UTC

List of attendees: NCA – Non-Voting – Erika Mann **Contracted Parties House** Registrar Stakeholder Group: Pam Little, Michele Neylon, Darcy Southwell gTLD Registries Stakeholder Group: Donna Austin, Keith Drazek, Rubens Kühl Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Carlos Raul Gutierrez **Non-Contracted Parties House** Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG): Philip Corwin, Susan Kawaguchi, Philippe Fouquart, Tony Harris, Paul McGrady, Heather Forrest Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG): Martin Silva Valent, Stephanie Perrin, Ayden Federline, Tatiana Tropina, Arsene Tungali, Rafik Dammak, Nominating Committee Appointee (NCA): Syed Ismail Shah GNSO Council Liaisons/ Observers: Cheryl Langdon-Orr- ALAC Liaison Ben Fuller - ccNSO Observer Julf (Johan) Helsingius - GNSO liaison to the GAC

ICANN Staff

David Olive -Senior Vice President, Policy Development Support Marika Konings – Vice President, Policy Development Support Mary Wong – Senior Policy Director Julie Hedlund – Policy Director Steve Chan - Policy Director, Berry Cobb – Policy consultant Emily Barabas – GNSO Policy Support Sr. Specialist Nathalie Peregrine – Manager Operations Support Terri Agnew – Operations Support, Lead Administration Ariel Liang - Policy Analyst, Policy Development Support

MP3 Recording

Transcript

Item 1. Seating of the 2017 / 2018 Council

1.1 - Roll call

After the roll call, Donna Austin, chairing Part II of the GNSO Council meeting, asked the incoming councilors to introduce themselves.

1.2 - Updates to Statements of Interest

Pam Little – SOI Registrars Stakeholder Group

Philippe Fouquart - SOI Internet Service Providers and Connectivity Providers

Arsène Tungali – SOI Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group

Tatiana Tropina – SOI Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group

Martin Pablo Silva Valent – SOI Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group

Ayden Férdeline – SOI Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group

Carlos Raul Gutierrez – SOI Nominating Committee Appointee (CPH)

Syed Ismail Shah – SOI Nominating Committee Appointee (NCPH)

1.3 - Review/amend agenda

There were no changes requested to the agenda.

Action Items:

• Incoming Councilors to ensure that their Statement of Interest (SOI) is updated.

Item 2. Election of the Chair

One nomination was received for this position, Heather Forrest from the Non-Contracted Parties House. The GNSO held a question & answer session with the candidate on 29 October 2017 during the GNSO Working Session.

There were no questions or comments from the floor.

As approved by the Council, the vote was conducted by a show of hands and Paul McGrady, participating remotely, voted verbally.

Vote results

Heather Forrest was elected unanimously as GNSO Chair for the one-year term ending at the 2018 Annual General Meeting (AGM).

GNSO Council vice-chairs were announced as Donna Austin for the Contracted Party House and Rafik Dammak for the Non-Contracted Party House.

Donna Austin congratulated **Heather Forrest** on being elected GNSO Council Chair and handed the chair back to her to continue the Council meeting.

Action Items:

• *ICANN Staff* to communicate the election of Heather Forrest as GNSO Chair to the ICANN Board, as well as post the results on the GNSO website.

Item 3: COUNCIL DISCUSSION - Update on the GNSO Council Strategic Planning Session

Heather Forrest presented the draft agenda circulated for input from councilors highlighting the three main topics to be discussed during the Strategic Planning Session:

- roles, scope, and remit, including council, council leadership, the liaisons, and the GNSO more broadly
- the GNSO Council in the Empowered Community and the council's role post-transition
- strategic planning for 2018

Councilors expressed support for the agenda notably regarding the clarification of roles, responsibilities and processes in regard to the Empowered Community and the new ICANN Bylaws. Councilors also raised the need to discuss better time and workload management and in some cases accountability of Policy Development Process (PDP) Working Groups (WGs) and Review Teams (RT).

Item 4. Any Other Business

Michele Neylon and James Bladel congratulated the new GNSO Council leadership team and Jeff Neuman raised that Heather Forrest is the first GNSO Chair from the Non-Contracted party House.

Heather Forrest, GNSO Council Chair, adjourned the GNSO Council meeting and thanked everyone for participating.

The meeting was adjourned at 16:01 local time Wednesday 1 November 2017. The next GNSO Council Meeting will take place on 30 November 2017 at 21:00 UTC For other places see: <u>http://tinyurl.com/ybcbm2ev</u>