# ccNSO Nominations to the ccNSO Council 2010

Archives are available at http://forum.icann.org/lists/ccnso-nominations/

### 1) Background

The nominations of the ccNSO Council members to take Council seats at the end of the Nairobi meeting in March 2010 took place in September – October 2009.

The Councillors whose terms expire in 2010 are:

African Region: Paulos Nyirenda, .mw Asia/Australia/Pacific Region: Chris Disspain, .au European Region: Lesley Cowley, .uk Latin America/Caribbean Region: Oscar Robles, .mx North American Region: Oscar Moreno, .pr

### 2) Call for Nominations 11 September - 2 October 2009

Following nominations were received:

African Region: Paulos Nyirenda, .mw Nominated by Vika Mpisane, .za and Alioune Badara Traore, .ml Seconded by Souleymane Oumtanaga, .ci

Asia/Australia/Pacific Region: Chris Disspain, .au Nominated by Hiro Hotta, .jp Seconded by Keith Davidson, .nz

European Region: Lesley Cowley, .uk Nominated by Juhani Juselius, .fi Seconded by Annebeth Lange, .no

Latin America/Caribbean Region: Rolando Toledo, .pe Nominated by Oscar Robles, .mx Seconded by Patricio Poblete, .cl

North American Region: Keith Drazek, .us Nominated by Byron Holland, .ca Seconded by Dotty Sparks de Blanc, .vi

All of the listed persons were nominated and seconded in a correct way and within the set nomination period.

Oscar Robles also received a nomination by Patricio Poblete, .cl, but declared that he does not wish to re-stand for another term.

Since only one person per region was nominated and seconded, no elections are necessary.

## 3) Technical Problems

Some technical problems were reported during the nomination period:

- Although the election manager received both of Souleymane Oumtanaga's messages (initial email and confirmation email), seconding Paulos Nyirenda, it did not appear in the archives. Only per intervention of ICANN's technical department, it became visible.
- A European member reported he is unable to send messages to <u>ccnso-nominations@icann.org</u>. ICANN's technical department was asked to look into this, but could not define any problems. Since this was the only party reporting such problems, it was suggested the error might be on the member's side. Before this problem was resolved, the member's candidate was nominated and seconded by others.
- Byron Holland's nomination of Keith Drazek did not initially show in the archives. After some intervention of ICANN's technical team, it seems that there was a problem with the confirmation email. Byron was asked to re-submit the nomination, which was done within the nomination period.

Before closing the nomination email list, ICANN's technical department was asked to go through it once again to see whether other emails were pending. It was reported that there were no other emails in the system.

### 4) Acceptances

All of the five nominees have accepted their nomination.

### 5) New Council Members 2010

African Region: Paulos Nyirenda, .mw Asia/Australia/Pacific Region: Chris Disspain, .au European Region: Lesley Cowley, .uk Latin America/Caribbean Region: Rolando Toledo, .pe North American Region: Keith Drazek, .us

The Councillors will take their seat at the end of the ccNSO Council Meeting in Nairobi on the 10<sup>th</sup> March 2010.