Joint Statement from the Country Code Names Supporting Organization (ccNSO) and the Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO) re: Appointment of Members and Liaisons to the Customer Standing Committee

To: ICANN, the ICANN Community, and the U.S. National Telecommunications and Information Agency (NTIA)

Date: 10 August 2016

On 10 March 2016, the ICANN Board transmitted to the NTIA a <u>package of proposals</u> developed by the international Internet community to transition NTIA's stewardship of the IANA functions to the global multi-stakeholder community.

One of the things that this package calls for is the creation of a Customer Standing Committee (CSC) to provide operational oversight of the performance of the IANA naming function, a role currently performed by NTIA. The scope and responsibility of the CSC is available here.

The entire membership composition of the CSC, as specified in the package of proposals, includes:

## • Members:

- At minimum two generic top level domain (gTLD) registry operators and two country code top level domain (ccTLD) registry operators
- One additional TLD representative not considered a ccTLD or gTLD registry operator [Optional]

## • Liaisons:

- Each of the following ICANN Supporting Organizations (SOs) and Advisory Committees (ACs) may appoint one liaison:
  - Address Supporting Organization (ASO)
  - At-Large Advisory Committee (ALAC)
  - Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO) (Registrar Stakeholder Group or Non-Contracted Parties House of the GNSO)
  - Governmental Advisory Committee (GAC)
  - Root Server System Advisory Committee (RSSAC)
  - Security and Stability Advisory Committee (SSAC)
- o One liaison from Post-Transition IANA

Following the evaluation by the ccNSO and GNSO, please see the following final list of the full slate of CSC liaisons and members. Please note that at the moment the ASO/NRO has declined participation in the CSC.

## Members:

• ccNSO: Byron Holland and Jay Daley

• RySG: Elaine Pruis and Kal Feher

## Liaisons:

ALAC: Mohamed El Bashir

• GNSO - Non-Registry: James Gannon

• RSSAC: Lars-Johan Liman

SSAC: Jeff BedserPTI: Elise GerichGAC: Elise Lindeberg

We are confident that the current CSC is comprised of experts who have necessary skills to undertake this very important role. We also thank all the other ICANN communities for appointing their representatives in such a short timeframe.

We believe, and imagine that other Supporting Organizations and Advisory Committees might agree, that due to the time limitation for the selection process many other potential candidates may not have applied, which may have limited a broader diversity of candidates. Nonetheless, we are optimistic that for future calls for volunteers the process will allow time to address questions or concerns about the skills needed for the member and liaison roles in order to allow for a more diverse slate of candidates to apply.

We look forward to working with the CSC and its members, and we thank them for their contribution and dedication as they begin their tasks.

Best regards,

Katrina Sataki, Chair, ccNSO Council

and

James Bladel, Chair, GNSO Council