

22 August 2019

RE: Request for appointment of co-chairs to the IANA Naming Function Review

Ms. Katrina Sataki Chair, Country-Code Names Supporting Organization (ccNSO) Council

Mr. Keith Drazek Chair, Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO) Council

Dear Chairs,

We are writing to you regarding next step in the process of starting the work of the IANA Naming Function Review Team (IFRT). Section 18.8(d) of the Bylaws states: "The IFRT shall be led by two co-chairs: one appointed by the GNSO from one of the members appointed pursuant to clauses (c)-(f) of Section 18.7 and one appointed by the ccNSO from one of the members appointed pursuant to clauses (a)-(b) of Section 18.7." While the ALAC and SSAC are still working toward a composed review team that meets the requirements of the Bylaws, which we anticipate to be completed in the near future, we are ready to move to the appointment of co-chairs of the review team because the ccNSO and relevant parts of the GNSO have communicated that volunteers selected for seats 18.7(a)-(f) have confirmed availability to participate in the review. We believe that carrying this activity out in parallel will help to ensure that the work of the review team can start as soon as possible.

As such, pursuant to Section 18.8(d) of the Bylaws, we ask that the ccNSO and GNSO Councils appoint one volunteer from your respective pool of volunteers to serve as co-chairs of the IFRT.

The ccNSO-selected volunteers are:

Frederico Neves, seat 18.7(a) Peter Koch, seat 18.7(a) Unguec Stephen Kang, seat 18.7(b)

The GNSO-selected volunteers are:

Rick Wilhelm, RySG, seat 18.7(c) Jean-Christophe Vignes, RySG, seat 18.7(c) Kristian Ørmen, RrSG, seat 18.7(d) Christian Dawson, CSG, seat 18.7 (e) Tomslin Samme-Nlar, NCSG, seat 18.7 (f)



We look forward to hearing from you with your appointments as soon as possible and ideally no later than 6 September 2019 if possible.

Sincerely,

Trang Nguyen

Vice President, Strategic Programs ICANN

- cc: Donna Austin, Chair, GNSO Registries Stakeholder Group (RySG)
- cc: Graeme Bunton, Chair, GNSO Registrars Stakeholder Group (RrSG)
- cc: Tony Harris, Executive Committee, GNSO Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG)
- cc: Wolf-Ulrich Knoben, Executive Committee, GNSO Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG)
- cc: Brian Winterfeldt, Executive Committee, GNSO Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG)
- cc: Dean Marks, Executive Committee, GNSO Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG)
- cc: Claudia Selli, Executive Committee, GNSO Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG)
- cc: Barbara Wanner, Executive Committee, GNSO Commercial Stakeholder Group (CSG)
- cc: Stephanie Perrin, Chair, GNSO Non-Commercial Stakeholder Group (NCSG)
- cc: David Olive, Senior Vice President, Policy Development, ICANN
- cc: Bart Boswinkel, Vice President, Policy Development and ccNSO Relations, ICANN
- cc: Marika Konings, Vice President, Policy Development Support GNSO Relations, ICANN
- cc: Amy Creamer, Senior Project Manager, ICANN