GNSO Council Mar del Plata Meeting Minutes

Last Updated: 31 August 2009
6 April 2005

6 April 2005.

Proposed agenda and documents

List of attendees:
Philip Sheppard - Commercial & Business users C.
Marilyn Cade - Commercial & Business users C.
Grant Forsyth - Commercial & Business users C.- remote participation- proxy Marilyn Cade/Philip Sheppard
Greg Ruth - ISCPC
Antonio Harris - ISCPC
Tony Holmes - ISCPC
Thomas Keller- Registrars
Ross Rader - Registrars
Bruce Tonkin - Registrars
Ken Stubbs - gTLD registries
Philip Colebrook - gTLD registries - remote participation - proxy to Ken Stubbs
Cary Karp - gTLD registries - proxy to Philip Colebrook/Ken Stubbs
Lucy Nichols - Intellectual Property Interests C - absent apologies - proxy Niklas Lagergren
Niklas Lagergren - Intellectual Property Interests C
Kiyoshi Tsuru - Intellectual Property Interests C. - absent apologies - proxy Niklas Lagergren
Robin Gross- Non Commercial users C.
Marc Schneiders - Non Commercial users C. absent, apologies, proxy to Carlos Afonso
Carlos Afonso - Non Commercial users C.
Alick Wilson - remote participation - proxy to Maureen Cubberley
Maureen Cubberley

16 Council Members

Bret Fausett - ALAC Liaison

Olof Nordling - ICANN Manager, Policy Development Coordination
Maria Farrell -ICANN Policy Officer
John Jeffrey - ICANN General Counsel
Paul Verhoef - ICANN Vice President, Policy Development Support
Glen de Saint G�ry - GNSO Secretariat

Real Time Captioning
Quorum present at 10:30 CET,

Bruce Tonkin chaired the meeting.
Item 1: Approval of Agenda

Bruce Tonkin proposed the following additions to the agenda:
Item 3(a) Registry services approval agreement
Item 3 (b) .NET agreement

Item 2: Approve the minutes of
GNSO Council teleconference
17 March 2005
Ken Stubbs
moved the adoption of the 17 March 2005 minutes

The motion was carried. Philip Sheppard and Tom Keller abstained.

Decision 1: Minutes of the teleconference held on March 17, 2005 adopted.

Item 3: Ratify vote for ICANN Board seat #14 (currently held by Michael Palage)
The Secretariat reported that all email ballots were received by the close of voting on March 31, 2005 and Michael Palage was unanimously re-elected.
A summary of the email ballot results was posted to the council list on April 4, 2005.

Bruce Tonkin proposed a vote in favour of supporting the email ballot results as received by the Secretariat to ratify the vote.

Unanimously in favour. (Proxy votes for Lucy Nichols, Kiyoshi Tsuru, Marc Schneiders and Cary Karp.)

Michael Palage
thanked the Council for their vote of confidence and looked forward to having the opportunity of further serving not only the Council but also the ICANN community.

Decision 2. The Council ratified the email vote unanimously in favour of Michael Palage being elected for a three year term, until 6 months after the annual general meeting 2007, for ICANN Board seat 14.

Item 3(a) Registry services approval agreement
Bruce Tonkin
gave a summary of the registry services approval process found in the draft dot net agreement as it related to the policy development process. Olof Nordling has produced a diagram of the process in the dot net agreement. Bruce urged Council members to read the actual dot net agreement text and submit comments via the public comment list. The dot net agreement defined security and stability and provided a legal structure which could serve as a base for further work by the Council on the approval of new registry services.
It was agreed to put the issue on the next Council meeting agenda and to work with the staff in developing an initial report.


Philip Sheppard informed the Council he felt it would be inappropriate to propose a formal resolution regarding the concerns he raised on the dot net procedure, posted to the council list and the public comment list, as there was currently a bidding process in operation. Members of the ICANN community can respond directly via the public comment list established by ICANN for comments on the .net process.

Item 4. Strategic Plan for ICANN
Marilyn Cade thanked Council for the supporting the Amsterdam consultation and proposed that council should develop a strategic plan of its own and work with the other supporting organizations on a bottom up process to provide input to ICANN for the Strategic Plan.
Bruce Tonkin agreed and ascertained a high level of agreement by the council with a show of hands.

Item 5. Operating plan for ICANN
Bruce Tonkin
commented that council needed a process of planning for policy development. Some of the important issues, which council agreed on that should be considered during the next two years, were Whois, new TLDs, the Strategic Plan, the Registry service process, transfers and options for deleted names.
Philip Sheppard commented that options for the deleted names had been presented during the GNSO public Forum and that council had formally requested an issues report from staff at the January 13, 2005, meeting.
In response to the public comment received from Danny Younger in the GNSO Public Forum, Bruce Tonkin proposed that ICANN staff provide an update on whether registrars are meeting the escrow provisions of the registrar accreditation agreement.

Item 6. Proposed process for developing future strategic and operating plans
Marilyn Cade raised the issue of liaison appointments as part of the future strategic planning.
Ken Stubbs added that a regular reporting format about the activities of the other organizations should be developed.
Bruce Tonkin commented that the functioning of the supporting organization structure across ICANN should be part of the strategic planning.
Maureen Cubberley commented that there should be overlap in liaison functions so that some people who might choose to get involved with the strategic planning process would bring their expertise to other specific areas to form a core of representatives from each of the groups.
Bruce Tonkin commented on the nominating committee process and that looking at the organizational structure in the broader sense, it was useful for the council to have people who had played a range of different roles which helped to link the different organizations.

Item 7. Any other business
Bruce Tonkin
thanked Tony Harris in particular as a Council member involved in the organization of the Mar del Plata, for all that he had done to make the meeting a success.

Bruce Tonkin declared GNSO Council meeting closed, thanked everybody for attending as well as Grant Forsyth, Phil Colebrook and Alick Wilson for their remote participation.

The meeting ended: 11:54 ( local time)

  • Next GNSO Council teleconference May 12, 2005 at 12:00 UTC.
    see: Calendar