# ccNSO Nominations and Elections to the ccNSO Council 2012

27 October 2011

# 1) Background

The nominations and elections of the ccNSO Council members, which are taking seat in March 2012, started in August and ended in October 2011.

The timeline was set according to the ccNSO guidelines (see <a href="http://www.ccnso.icann.org/about/guidelines-ccnso-council-election-procedure-08may08en.pdf">http://www.ccnso.icann.org/about/guidelines-ccnso-council-election-procedure-08may08en.pdf</a>, page 2) confirmed by the ccNSO Council on 23 August 2011 (see <a href="http://www.ccnso.icann.org/workinggroups/minutes-council-23aug11-en.pdf">http://www.ccnso.icann.org/about/guidelines-ccnso-council-election-procedure-08may08en.pdf</a>, page 2) confirmed by the ccNSO Council on 23 August 2011 (see <a href="http://www.ccnso.icann.org/workinggroups/minutes-council-23aug11-en.pdf">http://www.ccnso.icann.org/workinggroups/minutes-council-election-procedure-08may08en.pdf</a>, page 3) when Gabriella Schittek also was appointed Nomination- and Electionmanager.

The Councillors whose terms expire in 2012 are:

Africa - Vika Mpisane, .za Asia/Australia/Pacific - Young-Eum Lee, .kr Europe – Juhani Juselius, .fi Latin America/Caribbean - Patricio Poblete, .cl North America - Byron Holland, .ca

## 2) Call for Nominations 26 August – 16 September 2011

The call for nominations to the ccNSO Council was launched on 26 August 2011 and ended on 16 September 2011 00.00 UTC.

At the close of the call the following nominations were received:

### AF Region

*Vika Mpisane,* .za Nominated by Paulos Nyirenda, .mw on 6 September 2011, seconded by Souleymane Outmtanaga, .ci 7 September 2011

A second secondment was also received by Alex Corenthin, .sn; however outside the nomination period (19 September).

#### Mohamed Ibrahim, .so

Nominated by Muhammed Rudman, .ng on 13 September 2011, seconded by Tarik Babikir Merghani, .sd on 13 September 2011.

### AP Region

Young – Eum Lee, .kr Nominated by Minjung Park, .kr on 7 September 2011, seconded by Hiro Hotta, .jp on 7 September 2011.

## **EU Region**

Juhani Juselius, .fi Nominated by Katrina Sataki, .lv on 7 September 2011, seconded by Mathieu Weill, .fr on 8 September 2011.

## LAC Region

*Margarita Valdes*, .cl Nominated by Clara Collado, .do on 12 September 2011, seconded by Armnando Jipsion, .pa on 13 September 2011.

## **NA Region**

*Byron Holland*, .ca Nominated by .vi on 6 September 2011. Not seconded.

The Nomination Archive is available at <a href="http://forum.icann.org/lists/ccnso-nominations/">http://forum.icann.org/lists/ccnso-nominations/</a>

#### 3) Extended Nomination Period North American Region 16 September – 23 September 2011

As the North American region lacked a fully nominated candidate within the nomination period, the ccNSO Chair Lesley Cowley decided, in agreement with the ccNSO Council, to extend the nomination period for the North American Region with one week, until the 23 September 00.00 UTC.

Byron Holland was seconded on 20 September 2011 by Fernando Espana, .us.

### 4) Election Period for the African Region 7 October – 21 October 2011

As two African candidates were fully nominated, elections needed to be held in the African region.

The candidates were invited to submit campaign statements to the ccNSO members email list, starting 30 September, ending 7 October 2011.

The African ccNSO members were encouraged per email (3 October 2011) to control who their primary contact is, prior to the start of the elections, so that they would know where the ballot would be delivered.

The elections started on 7 October 00:00 UTC and ended on 21 October 00:00 UTC. Voting ballots were sent to the primary contact listed in the ccNSO database to all member registries in the African region.

By closure on 21 October 2011, 16 out of 27 eligible registries had cast a vote, which means that the quorum was reached, as required by the ICANN bylaws (see <a href="http://www.icann.org/en/general/bylaws.htm">http://www.icann.org/en/general/bylaws.htm</a>, section 4, paragraph 9).

Vika Mpisane received 14 votes, Mohamed Ibrahim received 2 votes. Vika Mpisane was therewith re-elected to serve on the ccNSO Council for another three-year period.

## 5) Delivery of Ballots

The election manager received several messages from African members, reporting that the electronic ballots had not been received.

ICANN's technical department was therefore asked to submit the technical data on the delivery of the ballots. Only three ballots had not been delivered, due to following reasons:

<u>.ga</u> -- can't connect to mail server <u>.ly</u> -- delivery failed, remote configuration problem <u>.cv</u> -- user unknown

As none of these three members had contacted the election manager about a missing ballot, attempts were made to contact them. ICANN's Regional Liaison for the African Region was also involved, but it was only possible to establish contact with .cv, where an explanatory email was sent; however, no reply was received.

In most cases, the members did not know who their primary contact was, and were not aware what address the ballot had been posted to. In several cases, the ballot was found in the spam box. In cases where the ballot still could not be found, the election manager accepted email votes from the address listed as primary contact in the ccNSO database. In once case, the primary contact was changed during the election process, according to set procedures, in order to make a vote possible.

## 6) Final Results of Nominations and Elections to ccNSO Council

The end results of the nominations and elections to the ccNSO Council are as follows:

### AF Region

Vika Mpisane, .za

### AP Region

Young-Eum Lee, .kr

#### EU Region

Juhani Juselius, .fi

### LAC Region

Margarita Valdes, .cl

### NA Region

Byron Holland, .ca

The Councillors will take their seat at the end of the ccNSO Council Meeting in Costa Rica on 14 March 2012.